Coach light & outdoor GFI receptical..

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-17, 12:26 PM
NorPlan1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Coach light & outdoor GFI receptical..

Have a Coach Light off the Patio Door to the Backdeck, the Light also has a GFI Outdoor Plug Receptical.. There is only One Switch Inside by the P/D , turning the Light Switch ON tells us there is power to the GFI Plugs.. Unfortunately the Electrical Panel has No Index or Numbered Ledger telling us what each Breaker covers .. Started out the day fine but noticed at one point Light was out and there was No Power to the Plugs.. There is No, 3Wire, just 1 , 14-2 wire in the Junction Box the Coach Light / GFI Plug is wired into .. Could the GFI Plug have Blown ?? Would that have Disabled the Coach Light as well ?? Help Appreciated.. Cheers Thanks..
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-17, 12:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,022
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The GFI receptacle would have a test and reset button on it.
Have you tried a reset.... with the light switch on ?
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-17, 03:59 PM
NorPlan1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@ Pjmax... Yep, Pressed the Test & ReSet Buttons a couple times.. The little indicator light doesn't come on..
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-17, 05:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The little indicator light doesn't come on..
If there is no power it won't reset. Tripped breakers are not always obvious.
No Index or Numbered Ledger telling us what each Breaker covers
Reset all the 15a and 20a single pole breakers by turning them all the way off then on. Test the receptacle to see if it will reset after resetting each breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 04-16-17, 03:54 PM
NorPlan1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ReSet all 15a 20a Single Pole Breakers
Yes Sir Flipped all Single Pole Breakers, They all Clicked Off / On Firmly.. Tried the GFI Plug Indicator Light doesn't shine..
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-17, 04:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Time to open the GFCI and look for loose wires. If none check for voltage on the line side wires using a multimeter (neon test light or solenoid voltage tester). You can not use a non contact tester.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: