Adding Semi-Permanent Receptacle Using Smoke Alarm Wiring


  #1  
Old 04-17-17, 10:49 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Adding Semi-Permanent Receptacle Using Smoke Alarm Wiring

I have an idea I wanted to run by the group to make sure I'm going down the right path. We're working on our son's nursery and I want to install a camera in one particular corner of the room as it has line-of-sight to everything.

That corner does have a smoke alarm installed with 12-3 wiring. My thought is that I could tap into that wiring and add a surface mount receptacle right next to it. This way I could add a "semi-permanent" outlet that I can eventually remove fairly cleanly in a couple years when we no longer need the camera.

Thoughts?
 
  #2  
Old 04-17-17, 11:03 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Is the breaker the smoke alarms are on a mix use circuit with other things already on it? If yes then it likely wouldn't be a local code violation in your area.
 
  #3  
Old 04-17-17, 11:27 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just double-checked and they are on a mixed-use circuit!

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 04-17-17, 06:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Sugest a surface race extension box to a surface race "switch" box with a short piece of surface raceway between.

Name:  d57fd66b-c0c1-4588-b619-e2cbf96c2c5b_1000.jpg
Views: 77
Size:  6.4 KB Name:  981c838f-594b-4188-85bc-e0917df205ed_1000.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  7.7 KB
 
  #5  
Old 04-17-17, 06:44 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
Seems like a lot of work compared to a plug in camera.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: