Voltage problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-18-17, 06:15 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Voltage problem

Hello diy,
I have a problem with voltage. I was fixing an electric dryer and forgot to unplug it before repair. There was a spark and i believe it fried the dryer. The voltage in the home outlets now reads 104V and 138V. Some are 104, some are 138. The 240V dryer outlet is also split between 138, 104. What could this be? Thanks
-Tim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-18-17, 06:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,022
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You've lost or partially lost the neutral to your panel.
It could have become damaged at the panel, the meter or at the service connection.

You may need to call the power company's emergency number and tell them you've lost the neutral to your service.
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-17, 10:57 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok thank you for the reply. Looks like I'm calling the power company.
-Tim
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-17, 11:54 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I'll also note that this could have been what damaged the dryer in the first place and you just happened to find it this way. The service neutral can come loose or burn off for a variety of reasons, and major appliances are often damaged as a result.
 
  #5  
Old 04-25-17, 03:38 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Voltage Problem

Hello diy,
I have a voltage problem and was told by a member here that it was caused by a damaged neutral. My voltages in the home are 104V and 138V. The electric company said it wasn't on their end and I needed to call an electrician. My questions are; how hard is it to locate the problem? what basic tools do I need? can i find it with just a multimeter? am i looking for any burnt wires or is a damaged neutral not visible? Thanks for any help
-Tim
 
  #6  
Old 04-25-17, 04:39 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,332
Received 45 Votes on 38 Posts
Did the power company send out someone to check the voltages at the meter to say it wasn't on their end? Check your voltage at the main disconnect right where the power comes from the meter. Is your service overhead or underground?
 
  #7  
Old 04-25-17, 04:50 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,408
Received 149 Votes on 133 Posts
You may not have a main disconnect at the meter. In such a case you will need to check voltages at your main panel.
 
  #8  
Old 04-25-17, 05:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,022
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
Threads merged...................


Were you there when the power company came ?
If not you would have known they'd been there because they would have needed to pull the meter to check and you would have lost power.
 
  #9  
Old 04-26-17, 06:57 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No one came out, they checked remotely i assume. the service is underground. could it be a fried wire underground?
 
  #10  
Old 04-26-17, 07:05 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no one came ou i assume they checked remotely. is a damaged neutral usually an easy fix or can they be big jobs requiring digging and new lines?
 
  #11  
Old 04-26-17, 07:11 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
could the problem be fixed possibly by cleaning the terminal/contact point if the voltage at the main panel is the problem? is that common?
 
  #12  
Old 04-27-17, 05:17 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,332
Received 45 Votes on 38 Posts
I recently had a bad neutral underground and the power company had a person on site to check the voltage at the meter to determine it was their side. They used a meter with a probe sticking it in the ground to determine where the voltage leak is and dug up that spot and spliced the cable in the bad spot.

This is something you need to have fixed ASAP.
 
  #13  
Old 04-27-17, 11:16 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it looks like that may be the case with me. i checked the voltage from the wires that come directly from the ground and am having the same 104V 138V voltage problem. thanks
 
  #14  
Old 04-27-17, 11:21 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i live in a mobile home park and the problem seems to be not at the meter or panels since the reading from the wires coming directly from the ground to the main panel have the same 104V 138V problem. is this something i can fix myself? where do the wires underground go to? thanks diy
 
  #15  
Old 04-27-17, 11:57 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The usual wiring for a mobile home is that the meter and 2 or 4 space main panel are located on a utility pedestal at the corner of the lot. A subpanel feeder cable then runs underground, comes up under the skirting and feeds into the mobile home main panel. Is this how your situation is wired?

To be clear we need to know exactly where you are taking measurements.
 
  #16  
Old 04-27-17, 12:29 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_4079.jpg
Views: 84
Size:  46.0 KB

Name:  IMG_4080.jpg
Views: 83
Size:  50.1 KB
images of the panel
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-27-17 at 12:45 PM. Reason: Separate images
  #17  
Old 04-27-17, 12:44 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
In almost all situations this is a power company problem. It's possible it could be a park management problem if they own the underground distribution infrastructure inside the park, but my wager is on the power company given it's on the supply-side of the meter.
 
  #18  
Old 04-27-17, 01:04 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok thank you i called the power company and explained the situation more clearly to them and are supposed to be sending someone out today. thanks diy
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: