Ryobi 2200 with McColloch chainsaw


  #1  
Old 04-19-17, 05:00 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,403
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
Ryobi 2200 with McColloch chainsaw

Do you think I can use this McCulloch chain saw for limited light duty use with this Ryobi generator? I think it might be borderline but usable.

McCulloch Electric Chainsaw
SPECIFICATIONS
Model No. . .MCC3516F
Input . . ..120V~, 60Hz, 13.5 Amp . . . . . .120V~
Peak Horsepower . . . .3.5HP
No Load Speed . . .5500/min
Bar Length . . . 16 (40cm)
Cutting Speed . . .10.5 m/sec . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .10.5 m/sec
Chain Oil Capacity . . .180ml
Net Weight (Without guide bar and chain) . . .4.2 kg (9.24 Lbs)


Ryobi Ryi2200 generator
PRODUCT SPECIFICATIONS
ENGINE
Engine Type......................... Single Overhead Cam (SOHC)
Spark Plug..........................................................LD A7RTC
Engine Lubricant Volume.......................................13.52 oz.
GENERATOR
Rated Voltage.........................................120 V AC/12 V DC
Rated Amps.............................................15 A AC/7.5 A DC
Rated Running Watts ............................................. 1,800 W
Starting Watts......................................................... 2,200 W
Rated Frequency........................................................ 60 Hz
 
  #2  
Old 04-19-17, 05:26 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,963
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
IMO - Yes.
--------------------
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-17, 06:41 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Don't you think you'd be better off just buying a gas chainsaw? It'd certainly be cheaper than an inverter generator..
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-17, 07:28 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,403
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
Yes of course, and that is the plan, but I need this as a temp solution.

I have the chain saw and I have the generator.
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-17, 08:45 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh okay, I thought you were buying the generator to run the chainsaw lol! Yeah you should be okay running it then.
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-17, 06:00 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,963
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
Let us know if it does work and how well. I am curious to know.
 
  #7  
Old 04-21-17, 03:33 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,403
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
Will do when I get to it.
 
  #8  
Old 04-21-17, 11:13 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,147
Received 163 Votes on 146 Posts
I also believe that little generator will power the saw, but it'll just about max it out. The saw might be just a little slow on starting till the generator RPMs can pick up.
 
  #9  
Old 04-21-17, 01:52 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,403
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
I hope to try it this weekend.
 
  #10  
Old 04-24-17, 03:57 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,403
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
Folow up

Yesterday tried out the generator - saw combination. Works like a charm. At startup the saw will pull near max amps from gen but will run at normal speed thereafter. Will give it real test latter in the week.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: