Electrical box setup for this outlet


  #1  
Old 04-22-17, 08:05 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical box setup for this outlet

Hi folks,

Can you please advise on the type type of electrical box I should use for this?

This is for unfinished new construction in Alaska. A basement/exterior wall. Behind the drywall is foam so the electrician did not place a box there, he just feed the line and left it like this. (please see photo)

Thank you.

Name:  electrical.jpg
Views: 235
Size:  24.6 KB
 
  #2  
Old 04-22-17, 08:09 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,176
Received 19 Votes on 16 Posts
Depending on how thick the foam is, you can either use an old work box cut into the sheetrock and foam, or use a surface mount box secured to the sheetrock.
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-17, 10:34 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Paul.
.................
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-17, 10:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,951 Votes on 2,663 Posts
Did you determine how much room there is behind the wall ?
 
  #5  
Old 04-24-17, 06:57 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Received 104 Votes on 86 Posts
Just a heads up.
Also you may think about how the electrician ran the romex (cable) behind the sheet rock. You say there is foam. Is it sprayed in or foam board. More than likely a narrow cavity. Watch when cutting into the sheet rock that you don't cut into the romex by accident. It may just be laying behind the sheet rock. Did you watch how it was done. Do you know if the romex is secured behind the sheet rock and in which direction it is coming from so you know where to cut/drill a hole in the wall without damaging the romex behind the wall? With regular 2 x 4 studs the romex would be stapled to the studs, but in this case it may just be sandwiched between the sheet rock and foam.
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-17, 07:46 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
Is this possibily for an appliance?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: