Cargo trailer wiring setup question

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-24-17, 02:51 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cargo trailer wiring setup question

Hey all. I am trying to setup a cargo trailer with electric. The trailer is for RC racing. The places we will pull it to do not have 30 or 50 amp hookups like a camp ground. It is usually a block of standard outdoor outlets.

My idea was to run two 15 amp circuits totally independently but in the same boxes. In the pictures you will see white outlets and tan outlets. I have no idea if this will work, but the idea was to have everything split into different circuits in case we ever need heavy draws. The outside of the trailer has two RV style shore inlets. The idea being to just plug two extension cords in (if we ever need both circuits at the same time).

I kept everything separated and wrapped each outlet in electrical tape. When I get to the breaker box I realized I may have a flawed design. Is it possible to wire two totally different circuits in this same box? The photo with the lines drawn is a rough idea, but I'm not sure it would work.

Thanks in advance!







 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-24-17, 03:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your post was moderated due to the pictures.
You would normally need over ten posts before your pictures were automatically allowed.

Looks good. Would have been much easier using individual wires instead of NM-b cable.

With that type of setup..... the grounds would be separated from the neutrals.
The white/neutrals will connect in that existing block.
The grounds would go to a separate ground block directly bolted to the metal enclosure.

You're going to have a problem. I'm fairly certain your campgrounds will GFI protected circuits which will trip when you have the neutrals from two circuits connected together.

You'd be better off just connecting directly to 2 power cords and not use a panel.
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-17, 03:11 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
10-4. Thank you. I may have double posted. If so, my apologies.
 
  #4  
Old 04-24-17, 03:17 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You could install a regular 120V RV panel (or simply jumper the hot to both busbars in the one you have) with a 30A RV inlet, and just use a 30A-to-15A adapter where needed.

 
  #5  
Old 04-24-17, 03:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
No 30A receptacle at the campgrounds he's using. He needs to split his loads.
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-17, 03:27 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,702
Received 477 Votes on 438 Posts
I think the important question everyone has missed is "what are you racing"?
 
  #7  
Old 04-24-17, 03:28 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could I put a separate neutral bar in and run both circuits 100% independently? Can the grounds and neutrals from a single circuit go together? If so, then can I have two neutral bars, each with a neutral and a ground, then each hot going to their "side" then use one breaker on both sides?

1/8 scale e-buggy, 1/10 short course truck, 1/10 4wd buggy, and maybe a nitro buggy. There will be 4 of us (2 being kids) sharing the trailer and tent we set up.
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-17, 03:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
The grounds must be shared. The neutrals must remain separated.
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-17, 03:45 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So the second image would work, or would I still run into issues with the GFI's? Usually these tracks have a board full of outdoor outlets. I assume I will have to plug into two different outlets rather than both plugs on the same outlet... Correct?



OR

 
  #10  
Old 04-24-17, 03:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
The second diagram illustrates the correct wiring.
The greens and whites cannot touch.
 
  #11  
Old 04-24-17, 04:23 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The neutral bar is proving to be harder to find than I thought. I guess a ground bar can't be used, correct? It needs to be insulated?
 
  #12  
Old 04-24-17, 05:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: