[email protected] amp light switch on a 20 amp circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-25-17, 12:36 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[email protected] amp light switch on a 20 amp circuit?

Once again a small question as I complete my new construction home; I have wired my bathrooms on a 20 amp circuit. I split off a branch for the GFCI plugs and powered the lights with the same 20 amp but no GFCI. So my question is can I use [email protected] switches for the lights even though I have wired with 12/2 on a [email protected] breaker? Thanks. Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-25-17, 12:39 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Yes you can. Did you wire more than one bathroom on the same circuit? Did you wire receptacles and lights on the same circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 04-25-17, 01:31 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
For a light switch, it can match the load it is controlling. As long as you have less than 15A worth of light bulbs the 15A switch it OK.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: