Fan wiring for new fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-17, 08:28 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fan wiring for new fan

I just installed a new fan. I thought I connected everything like it is supposed to be connected. However, I smell something weird. Could be the new fan Turing on but here is what I have.
A wiring box with 3 electrical wires coming into it. The blacks are all wire nuted together and 2 of the whites are wire nuted. I have the white wire from the fan going to the switch with the white wire by itself. Black it tied in with blacks.
Fan had 2 ground wires. I took those ground wires and put them with the 3 bare wires and put a wire nut on them. Is it okay to tie the fans 2 ground wires to the bare wires from each electrical wire (3)?
I mean everything is working properly
 
  #2  
Old 05-06-17, 10:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,919
Received 1,344 Votes on 1,242 Posts
You have three cables coming in.

One cable is power in.
One cable is power out.
One cable is the switch loop.

The black power in and the black power out should be connected with the white of the switch.
The black of the switch goes to the black of the fan.
The white power in and the one power out get connected together and then to the white from the fan.

All grounds get connected together.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-17, 01:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
This is the basic circuit Pete described:

Name:  G.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  29.5 KB

You must determine which cable is power in using a multimeter or test light. A non contact tester can't be used.

Use a multimeter set to lowest ohm scale to determine which is switch loop. With switch on you will have continuity to black to white. To verify cable turn switch off. It should now show open. Tip: Have a helper repeatedly flip the switch on and off. The switch cable will show the meter moving between continuity and open.
Breaker must be off when determining switch loop cable. The breaker does need to be on when determining power in cable so be very careful when checking each cable.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-17, 10:34 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Seems simple. Looks like I have it wired wrong now but Is working.
I guess I need to verify which one is the light switch and make those connections like below.

Thanks for the info. Surprised I didn't burn the house down
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-17, 11:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You first need to check the wiring at the switch. If you don't have a black and white wire on the switch then the information is wrong.
 
  #6  
Old 05-07-17, 11:35 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_4211.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  26.4 KB
Here is what my switch looks like
 
  #7  
Old 05-07-17, 12:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
And only two wires, correct? Then you are good to go with the previous instructions.
 
  #8  
Old 05-07-17, 01:13 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep and the ground wire on the switch
 
  #9  
Old 05-07-17, 01:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
We almost always assume ground wires when referencing cable so when we talk wire count unless specifically mentioned we don't include the ground wire in the count.
 
  #10  
Old 05-07-17, 04:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looks like I may have to rewrite the whole thing. This is backwards. I wish I could draw it out like below.

So, switch black wire is tied in with the other 2 incoming white wires. Switch white wire is tied in with the white wire from the fan and then is tied in with the white from the controller for the remote thing.

The 2 black wires from both cords are connected with the black from the controller.

What the heck do I have
Name:  IMG_4212.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  34.2 KB
 
  #11  
Old 05-07-17, 05:47 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I'm having a bit of trouble seeing your drawing. Is this basicly your drawing.

Name:  G.jpg
Views: 89
Size:  13.1 KB

You need to identify where your power in cable is.
 
  #12  
Old 05-07-17, 07:15 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually yes, that is what it looks like. Looks 100 times better.
 
  #13  
Old 05-07-17, 07:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The unconnected whites and blacks in your diagram should be from two cables. Use a multimeter to determine if one of those cables is hot.

P.S. My diagrams are done mostly in a simple paint program. Use 12-14px for your text size and it will be easy to read.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: