Running 14-2 cable. Is this legit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-07-17, 01:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running 14-2 cable. Is this legit?

Can a 14-2 cable be run up through the long side of a 2x8" joist? Not the typical drill a hole in the face of the joist and run the cable through that. I mean drilling a hole up the joist along it's long side. My concern is the cable being inside wood for 7-7 1/2".

This is what I found when I wanted to tap off an outlet in our family room. It is a sunken room so it has rim type joists all around the room with the wall plates sitting on those so the electrician had to drill up through the joist to get the cable to that outlet.

Thanks

PS: If it is okay, can I run another cable up through that hole to tap off of that outlet? The hole the existing cable is running in is 3/4" currently.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-07-17, 02:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wood contact isn't a concern at all. Is this a double/triple joist? If its a single, then he compromised the integrity of it.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-17, 04:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,955
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
More of a structural issue than electrical.A hole should have been drilled at an angle through the sill plate to get into the wall cavity.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-17, 04:21 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
How close to the bearing point did he drill the hole? I agree it is a structural problem more than an electrical one. What size hole did he drill? I would say 3/8 at the smallest and probably 1/2", meaning there is only 1/2" of wood on either side of the hole. In essence he removed 1/3 of the wood.
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-17, 05:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
He said it's a 3/4" hole.. So he removed half the wood...
 
  #6  
Old 05-07-17, 06:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys

Great catch on the structure issue! I am not too worried about the structure as there is a double joist set up and it looks like the hole is drilled pretty precisely down between the two joists, if that's possible. The other reason I'm not concerned is that the house is 32 years old and everything is still standing. That was a great observation, however, by all of you.
 
  #7  
Old 05-08-17, 03:42 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If that is the case, and it was original to the house (I believe we were thinking it was new), then you should have no problem using the hole to fish additional cable through it.
 
  #8  
Old 05-08-17, 09:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess I should have led with that! I left that one and found another way around for my new wiring. Thanks to all; I'm sure I'll be back soon!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: