Replacing Electrical Dimmer Switch

Old 05-08-17, 04:34 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Electrical Dimmer Switch

Good Afternoon Everyone!

I am attempting to replace a dimmer switch in my home and am having a little trouble as I have little electrical experience. We recently had a tree fall on our property due to a storm and it took out all the power lines. Power has since been restored, however I have multiple lights that aren't functioning properly. There are two dimmer switches that no longer work and I am attempting to replace them.

The dimmer switch I am looking to replace does not work as the light stays on full brightness at all times. This switch controls a light/ceiling fan combo. I purchased a single pole dimmer to replace this - is this the correct switch?

The switch that is currently connected has a ground wire that is not connected to anything. My home was built in the 1940's so I am not sure if this is normal or not? If so, should I just put a wire cap over this? There is also an adjacent light switch in the same wall box that has black wires connected to the dimmer switch - is this some sort of transfer connection or is this wired improperly?
The wall box is made of metal, not plastic which threw me off based on my research.

Thanks everyone in advance for their help and let me know what further information I can provide!

Taylor

Existing dimmer switch and box:
Name:  Outlet1.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  50.4 KB

Name:  Outlet2.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  41.7 KB

New Dimmer Switch:
Name:  NewDimmerSwitch.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  26.2 KB

Last edited by TJRussell24; 05-08-17 at 05:18 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-17, 04:45 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts