Service bonding ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-11-17, 09:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Service bonding ?

I'm replaing the 200A main disconnect on the side of the house with a "Square D by Schneider Electric HOM816M200FTRB Homeline 200-Amp 8-Space 16-Circuit Outdoor Main Breaker Load Center with Feed-Thru Lugs" so I can have breakers for the garage.
Anyway - looking at the pics of the current installation, am I correct to assume that I need to bond my new box? It looks like the current disconnect box has the neutral and grounds all bonded together. Right?

Name:  p1.jpg
Views: 161
Size:  29.6 KB

Name:  p2.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  31.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-11-17 at 10:09 PM. Reason: reoriented pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-11-17, 11:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,654
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
That disconnect would be considered the main panel and the panel in the house would be a subpanel. That means at the panel in the house... all neutrals and grounds are separated from each other.

Your grounds and neutrals will still connect there. You will probably need some additional aux lugs for neutrals.
Name:  aux lugs.JPG
Views: 117
Size:  26.1 KB


I had to check into the feed thru lugs. They are feed from the 200A main and will feed the house.

Name:  homeline.JPG
Views: 109
Size:  23.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 05-12-17, 04:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is my house panel. These appear to be bonded.

Name:  20170511_205830.jpg
Views: 90
Size:  41.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-12-17 at 04:52 PM. Reason: Rotate, crop and enhance image.
  #4  
Old 05-12-17, 04:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Whats with the coiled ground wires at the top? Are they connected?
 
  #5  
Old 05-12-17, 04:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,654
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
I needed to make the picture lighter Ray.

Yours neutral and grounds are separate..... not bonded.
Your grounds are connected to ground bars attached directly to the panel.
Your whites are connected to isolated neutral bars.

I think the green wire at the bottom is in the wrong place. It should go to a lug and directly to the panel.... not the neutral bar.


On edit:
In looking further... that green wire comes from the meter and IS in the wrong place.
It needs to connect only to the panel (ground).
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-17, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it common for electricians to wire something wrong like this? The house is a modular so it was wired someplace else. Is there a threaded hole someplace in the box that I can move that lower green wire to?

Also, on the service disconnect box, the grounds and neutrals ARE together. They are also bonded to the box somehow. (I checked continuity between the lugs and the box.)
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-17, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I forgot to point out that the lower left neutral lug has a green bonding screw right next to it. That was why I assumed it was bonded.
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-17, 06:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hope you can see this one......

Name:  20170511_205746.jpg
Views: 108
Size:  47.4 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-12-17 at 07:55 PM. Reason: Rotate, enlarge, adjust color.
  #9  
Old 05-12-17, 07:31 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,978
Received 60 Votes on 53 Posts
I forgot to point out that the lower left neutral lug has a green bonding screw right next to it. That was why I assumed it was bonded.
The green screw is not screwed into the case of the panel so therefore the case is not bonded to the neutral. However PJ is correct, the ground wire should be connected to the steel case of the panel.
 
  #10  
Old 05-12-17, 08:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,654
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
I checked continuity between the lugs and the box.
You can't measure a difference between neutral and ground as they are attached inside the meter. Anywhere from there on and the neutral and ground will always show connected. The neutral will always show continuity to any ground.
(That is unless a wire is broken or open)

Usually when the ground wire enters the box it is run thru a connector and bonded to the box at that point as well as at the bar. There may also be a bonding screw on the neutral inside your disconnect. That would be correct.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: