Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

My refrigerator electric cord barely reaches the wall plug

My refrigerator electric cord barely reaches the wall plug


  #1  
Old 05-15-17, 06:40 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: mobile alabama USA
Posts: 149
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My refrigerator electric cord barely reaches the wall plug

The way the walls are built around where my refrigerator is located, the refrigerator has to be pushed in and then plugged up, because otherwise you just couldn't reach it. The receptacle is located on the wall at the top of the rear corner of the refrigerator so You can plug it up after the refrigerator is pushed into the slot. This is an old house from the 1950's and has all the original wiring, so it wouldn't pass code today, BUT, is the way mine is wired dangerous? I could instaul a junction box in the attic above the refrigerator and run another wire for a new receptacle where it would be very low on the wall, to whatever code is, so I could pull the refrigerator out for mantinace or whatever. What should I do if anything?
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-17, 07:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thread moved to Electrical forum.

Is your existing wiring grounded? I'm guessing no so you might consider a new circuit from the breaker panel.
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-17, 12:45 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,788
Received 199 Votes on 178 Posts
The receptacle is located on the wall at the top of the rear corner of the refrigerator so You can plug it up after the refrigerator is pushed into the slot.
Can you push the fridge in then plug it in? If so, that sounds like the easiest solution. Though I know you're supposed to vacuum the coils yearly, I have to admit, I don't remember the last time I pulled the fridge out.

If you do want/need to move the receptacle, I'd go with Ray's advice and probably run a new circuit. It will be grounded, up to code, and probably reduce any overloading/tripping you have in the kitchen now. Older kitchens usually had only one circuit for everything, which is woefully limited in today's kitchens.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-17, 06:17 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,823
Received 111 Votes on 98 Posts
The receptacle is located on the wall at the top of the rear corner of the refrigerator so You can plug it up after the refrigerator is pushed into the slot.
I don't see the problem. I don't believe I have ever seen a refrigerator that could be pulled out for maintenance without it first being unplugged. I wouldn't do anything.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: