4-Way ZWave GE Switch Wiring Frustration

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-30-17, 06:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 116
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
4-Way ZWave GE Switch Wiring Frustration

I'm having some trouble with a 4-way circuit, a GE Zwave switch which uses a white neutral and just traveler wires, no load/hot.

I have the main hot location and the other 3-way location licked, it's the 4-way switchbox giving me headaches.

I tried the two red wires to the GE switch in the 4-way circuit and capping the black together to no avail, I assumed that would be the way. I must be wrong. No light at all when I do this.

I previously had a dimmer switch at the hot location in this 4-way circuit so it's possible that load and traveler got mixed up, so any tips identifying those would help. The hot wire was of course easy to identify in this location.

All details are below.

Box 2 is the real problem though I may have the load and traveler swapped in Box 1 though I've moved them around as well. I have a multimeter (don't think I have a long enough jumper wire though) so any suggestions on testing I can do by flipping switches and taking measurements on bare wires to help identify wires in Box 1 or Box 2 would be great.

Pretty sure Box 3 is correct, Box 1 I might have load and traveler swapped, if that even matters, and Box 4 I am now stumped on the 2 black/red pairs and if the red are travelers, the black or travelers, or what. I can say that one of the blacks is definitely throwing 120 volts regardless of the master switch's position (though I have not disconnected the hot/master switch yet, but maybe that tells us something too.



**Box 1 (Hot)**

Pics:

Old Box 1 - Lutron Dimmer

New Box 1 - GE Zwave Dimmer

- White = hot wire
- Red = Load or Traveler (may need to swap?)
- Black = Load or Traveler (may need to swap?)
- Green Ground
- White Neutral jumper

**Box 2 (4-Way Circuit)**

Pics:

Old Box 2 - Standard Toggle

New Box 2 - GE Zwave ADDON

PAIR 1
- Red = Load or Traveler?
- Black = Load or Traveler?
PAIR 2
- Red = Load or Traveler?
- Black = Load or Traveler?
- Green Ground
- White Neutral jumper
I assume there is no hot in this box???

**Box 3 (3-Way)**

New Box 3 - GE Zwave ADDON

- Red = Traveler
- Black = Load (Capped)
- Green ground
- White neutral jumper
99% sure I have this box wired right.

Note with Box 1 and 3 connected as displayed, and Box 2 connected with the old toggle switch in the ON position, Box 1 and 3 function perfectly.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-30-17, 08:40 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Here's a link that may help you. Scroll down to the 4 way diagram.

http://homeseer.com/pdfs/GE_Jasco/45...al-English.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-17, 09:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Are you using one master and two slave controls ?

Which switch does the hot come in ?
Which switch is where the load is ?

Normally you would pull out the four way switch and connect all like colors together.
White to white, red to red and black to black.

One of those wires is the traveler.
One is the neutral.
One can be used for the load.

When I install a Z system.... I make the white neutral, the red the traveler and the black the remote load.
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-17, 10:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 116
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks folks.

The links were helpful, I realized I was connecting the neutral to the wrong white bundle in the 4-way box. There was a live hot bundle in there next to the neutral bundle (both bundled white wires, my mistake). Switching to the proper neutral bundle solved my problem.

The key was indeed to wire nut the black travelers together eventually to the load, and use the reds as the travelers connected to the switches for the GE switches.
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-17, 02:06 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Good job. It can be very confusing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: