Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Is it OK to have 20 Amp Elect wire (12 G) feed 15 Amp Electrical outlets?

Is it OK to have 20 Amp Elect wire (12 G) feed 15 Amp Electrical outlets?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-17, 09:07 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 284
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it OK to have 20 Amp Elect wire (12 G) feed 15 Amp Electrical outlets?

I am putting in a new electrical line in this NJ house. A new 20 amp Circuit breaker feeds a new 20 amp line. The line goes up to the second flr and feeds a quad and continues on and feeds a duplex. The electrical outlets I have for the quad and duplex are each rated for 15 Amps. Is this OK functionally and in terms of code?
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-17, 09:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
By code there is no need for a 20 amp receptacle on a 20 amp circuit if there are at least two plug-ins. A single duplex receptacle counts as two plug-ins.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-02-17 at 10:28 PM.
  #3  
Old 06-02-17, 09:27 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 284
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your good reply. And thank you for your speedy reply.

Best,
Dave
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: