Need help! Wife is on her way home. :-)

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-17, 09:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help! Wife is on her way home. :-)

Hi all,

First time here and wondering if somebody could provide some guidance. I purchased a new outlet with two USB ports integrated in. It was this one.

https://www.amazon.com/Beemax-Charge...rds=Beemax+usb

I looked at the simple directions that came with the outlet and the photo in the listing on how to wire and thought ai was ready to go. I opened the outlet Inwas going to replace and found two black wires, two red wires, two white wires, and a bare ground.

The new outlet has a place for three sets of wires to be attached and are labeled as live, neutral, and earth. I attempted to hook the outlet up as follows -

Two black cables to the live terminal, two red cables to the neutral terminal, and two white cables to the earth terminal. Didn't connect the bare ground to anything. As you can guess it isn't working. This was also connected this way based on a picture they had on the link above for how to connect.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-08-17, 09:42 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,555
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
The black and white wires are the ones you should use Black to live, white to neutral bare copper to earth. Without knowing where red wires go or came from not sure . Do you remember which screws the red wires came off. Hope you took pictures before you started.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-17, 09:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Original outlet was wired as follows- black wire to screw, second black wire attached to hole in back, red wire to screw, second red wire attached to hole in back. Both white wires attached to holes on back and bare wire attached to green screw.

If I leave the red wires out of the new outlet, do I need to cap or tape them off so they are not exposed inside the box? Any thoughts on what the red cables could be?

Thanks for your help
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-17, 10:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It sounds like it is a multi wire circuit. Is there two handle tied single pole breakers or a a double pole breaker controlling it? What room of the house is it located in? Do you have a multimeter?
 
  #5  
Old 06-08-17, 10:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's the outlet next to our bed in the master bedroom and is controlled by a single pole breaker. I don't have a multimeter.
 
  #6  
Old 06-08-17, 11:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wired as suggested by Pugsl and just capped off the red wires. Everything is working and all the nearby outlets are working, so think I'm all set. Unless somebody thinks I need to do something different with the red wires.

Thanks for the help. I have 8 more outlets to wire tomorrow.
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-17, 05:28 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,117
Received 21 Votes on 21 Posts
Was the outlet originally switched? not to through a wrench into this post but according to the 2017 NEC Article 406,when replacing a receptacle that receptacle must be AFCI protected.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-17, 06:51 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,555
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
Write down where the red wires were. Someplace down the line you may come across a out or switch that doesn't work. It will help us to tell you how to fix.
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-17, 06:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,649
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
... switch that doesn't work.
Maybe look at the old one and see if the tab
between the top and bottom was removed?
 
  #10  
Old 06-09-17, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried to attach a photo of the old outlet. Original wiring...

**see picture posted sideways. Green screw should be in bottom right for all orientations listed below.

Black wire to upper left screw, black wire to upper left hole
Red wire to lower left screw, red wire to lower left hole
White wire to upper right hole, white wire to lower right hole
Ground to green screw

Not sure what "see if tab between top and bottom was removed"
 
Attached Images  
  #11  
Old 06-09-17, 09:31 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,555
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
Tab looks broken next to dark screw. You may have had a switched 1/2 outlet or a out let fed from 2 sources (very rare). Look for a switch that does nothing.
 
  #12  
Old 06-09-17, 10:27 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Here is what the tab looks like:

Name:  receptacle_tab.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  18.5 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: