Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

How big a circuit breaker/gauge wiring would you suggest for this?

How big a circuit breaker/gauge wiring would you suggest for this?

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 06-09-17, 03:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How big a circuit breaker/gauge wiring would you suggest for this?

Here is my electrical panel:

Name:  IMG_3965.jpg
Views: 87
Size:  43.8 KB

I believe it is a stab-lok panel using those breakers. Basically I want to add a breaker to run 240v to power 4 1000w lights . From my research I know that each light pulls about 3.6amps with a 5amp load when first turned on at 240v.

So my question is assuming there will be nothing else on that circuit, what sized breaker and what gauge wiring should I use?

I've done my research and have my guesses but I don't want that to influence the answers I get here!

Thanks!
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-09-17 at 04:15 PM. Reason: Rotate image.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-17, 04:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
A 30 amp breaker on #10 should be enough but tell us what kind of lights. 240 volt sounds commercial.
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-17, 04:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The lights are 240v 1000w High Pressure Sodium lights and theres 4 of them.

When the lights are switched on, there will be a 5amp load...for a total of 20Amps peak load. Isnt that cutting it kind of close? I was thinking of 30amps with #10.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-17, 04:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes #10 on 30a. I was editing as you posted.
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-17, 04:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Not directly related but is there a disconnect ahead of that breaker box? If not you can only have six circuits. Also FPE does nor have a good safety record in the U.S.
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-17, 05:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, there is no disconnect. That is the crazy part... There are 9 circuits on the panel already, granted a few of them are hardly used or used at very low amperage. Its an apartment so there's nothing I can do about the panel but yea, I did read that about these boxes.

Just trying to make it as safe as I can.
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-17, 05:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Its an apartment so there's nothing I can do about the panel
For reasons of liability you should not do the wiring if you don't own it. The fact that the panel is in violation of the Six Throw Rule of the NEC makes it even riskier. And on top of that an FPE panel. If there is ever a fire an insurance adjustor would have good reason to reject the claim. If someone was injured you could be criminally charged.

Your not installing the lights in your apartment are you?
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-17, 05:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I respect everything you're saying. I'm going to do what I'm going to do. I'm just looking for advice on doing it as safely as possible.
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-17, 05:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Advice has been given. Thread is closed.
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: