Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

OK to splice 3 grounds together to run thru conduit, then back apart?

OK to splice 3 grounds together to run thru conduit, then back apart?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-10-17, 09:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK to splice 3 grounds together to run thru conduit, then back apart?

Need to run 3 circuits through 1" PVC conduit... going to use Romex from panel -> junction box, then THHN thru conduit from Jbox to another Jbox in attic, then switch back to romex in that Jbox to run thru attic.

Probably a no-brainer here but I wanted to be 100% positive:
I know you can use a single ground through the conduit for all 3 circuits as long as it's the size of the highest rated wire, but when looking into all that, every example I've found is all THHN all the way back to the panel (as in, one ground all the way back to the bar). Since I'm using multiple romex from the panel to this conduit, do I just connect the grounds from all three Romex to a single ground wire, single ground wire through the conduit, then split it back up once it comes out the other end of the conduit to the individual circuits? Is that fine? 3 to 1 back to 3? (only meaning ground)

edit: bah.. tried to draw it but the html messed up my sketch

I assume no issues but I like to double check when I'm not 100% sure.
Thanks,
Brian
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-17, 10:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, you can connect all three NM-b grounds to a single THHN/THWN ground. Same for both ends of the conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-17, 02:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great. Thanks Ray~



12345678910111213141516171819202122232425
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-17, 09:36 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,059
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Huh?? .....................................
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-17, 06:21 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,948
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
Probably filler for the 25 character minimum.
 
  #6  
Old 06-17-17, 06:26 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,059
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Ok .......................................
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: