Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Generator Transfer Switch install question (AFCI Breakers)

Generator Transfer Switch install question (AFCI Breakers)

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-17, 02:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generator Transfer Switch install question (AFCI Breakers)

I have 3 AFCI breakers I want to feed from my Reliance Pro Tran 2 panel. From what I understand to meet code I have to replace the affected breakers in my transfer switch with AFCI breakers because you would lose AFCI protection when on generator power. To do this- can I 'jump' each neutral on the 3 breakers and run each neutral wire down into the transfer switch to the 3 new AFCI breakers- and then attach pig-tails to transfer switch neutral bar?

Thanks for any input!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-17, 11:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,580
Received 511 Votes on 481 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You need to move circuits from the main panel to the pro tran panel. Normally you would just extend the hot wire. Now you'll need to extend hot and neutral so that both will reach the new breaker in the pro tran panel.
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-17, 04:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That makes it easy and saves $$$. Can I keep the ground in the main - since transfer switch ground and neutral will be installed per instructions?

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-17, 06:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,580
Received 511 Votes on 481 Posts
The ground can remain in the main panel as the pro tran ground should connect to the same location.
 
  #5  
Old 06-29-17, 04:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just thought- how would breaker get power when switched back to 'LINE'

Or did you mean just 'jump' main AFCI's neutral and run into transfer switch's AFCI breaker- and tie in the hot as you normally would? (vs 'moving breaker' into transfer switch)
 
  #6  
Old 06-29-17, 07:39 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,172
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
The breakers would be moved to the transfer panel, if approved for that panel, then extend the branch circuit conductors to the transfer switch panel.
geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: