Grounding Metal box to Plastic box for outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-17, 08:09 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 185
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Grounding Metal box to Plastic box for outlets

Hello Experts,
I have tried couple of things and nothing works so please advise on correctly wiring
1. From Panel I have source going to plastic box. (Ground does not work here). In here ground wire is connected to outlet.
2. On left wall of plastic box is wall with metal box (Ground works here). Ground wire is attached to Box with that green screw.

3. On right wall of plastic box is wall with metal box (ground does not work). Ground wire here is attached to box with that green screw.

How do i fix the problem. Please suggest.
Thanks,
S2K
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-17, 08:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Fix what. Ground it for safety not function. It only works in case of a fault. It only works where conductive materials are present. A plastic box doesn't conduct.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-17, 08:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,001
Received 834 Votes on 781 Posts
It doesn't make a difference if it's a plastic box or metal box. If you have a cable going to the plastic box..... with the ground wire going to the receptacle..... and no ground is present.... you've lost it at the other end of the supplying cable.
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-17, 12:52 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The ground wire only bonds the case of what you plug in but most residential home equipment (up right vac, clothes iorn, lamp, ect) only has a 2 prong plug anyway because the body is plastic not metal like a microwave or washing machine so even if the ground wire in a plastic box is (open) meaning doesn't do anything it doesn't matter. It's against code but not a big safety issue and it would only be an issue if you sell your house because a whole house inspection would catch it and make you change to 2 prong receptacle so no big deal.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: