Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can I use a 6/3 wire to hookup a sub panel for 2 x 40 amp double pole breakers

Can I use a 6/3 wire to hookup a sub panel for 2 x 40 amp double pole breakers

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-17, 09:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I use a 6/3 wire to hookup a sub panel for 2 x 40 amp double pole breakers

I am.replacing a tankless water heater from 13 Kw to 18 and it requires 2 40amp double pole breakers. But I don't want to run another
6/2 wire from the main panel and I was thinking of just putting a sub panel use the 6/3 that is already there and put 2 40amp double pole breakers in the sub panel. Is the 6 gauge wire sufficient to handle this load?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-17, 09:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,685
Received 521 Votes on 491 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

#6/3 is good for 55A or so max. 2x40A breakers is 80A total.
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-17, 10:01 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,001
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Your tankless needs two circuits to feed it. The #6 is way too small.
 
  #4  
Old 06-29-17, 06:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys I just got more 8/2 and it should do the job.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: