2 voltages from same outlet?

Old 06-28-17, 03:32 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 voltages from same outlet?

Hey guys, I have been having some electrical issues in a house we moved into a year ago. A few outlets have 120v in top outlet and 15v in bottom outlet. I'm not an electrician but it seems hard to believe since both outlets come off the same side bus connection. What am I missing here?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-28-17, 03:39 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Sounds like you need to check for a worn receptacle or a loose connection .

Old 06-28-17, 03:54 PM
Group Moderator
Received 74 Votes on 66 Posts
What country are you located? Normal voltages vary country to country.

It is possible the bottom one is switched and the 15volts is just phantom voltage. What meter are you using?

Old 06-28-17, 04:26 PM
I think it's a switched receptacle too especially if you don't have ceiling light fixtures in the rooms with voltage issues

Old 06-28-17, 04:51 PM
I am in the US, the switched receptacle is not effected. I am using a Klein tools MM400, auto ranging on V. Every other receptacle in the house reads 120 or 121 volts. The house is only 9 years old so I doubt the receptacle is worn. It is all 3 outlets on the same wall...

Old 06-28-17, 05:00 PM
Group Moderator
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
You will need to turn the power off, remove the receptacles from the wall and check out their wiring. Don't disconnect the wires.

Possibly they were set up for switching and that part of the circuit has the problem.
You'll know better when you see the wiring.

You can describe the wiring to us.

Old 06-28-17, 05:02 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
A digital meter can be affected by induced voltages. There are $150+ Klines that have a special circuit to reject induced voltage but cheaper ones may not. However any cheap analog multimeter will usually ignore induced voltage because of its inherent low impedance.

Old 06-28-17, 05:10 PM