Receptacle configuration?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-30-17, 09:06 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Receptacle configuration?

Have receptacle in middle of circuit. Two white wires stabbed top and bottom on neutral side, two blacks stabbed top and bottom on hot side. One red wire connected to top screw hot side. Tabs on both sides intact, i.e. not broken. Before I touch anything, what does this configuration represent? House built/wired in 1979. Thanks for your feedback.
 
  #2  
Old 06-30-17, 09:09 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,250
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
Sounds like a half switched receptacle has been replaced with a constant hot.
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-17, 09:22 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Off topic but the wires need to be under the screws. Backstabs can fail over time leaving you diagnosing dead receptacles after you plugged in that vacuum cleaner.
 
  #4  
Old 06-30-17, 10:36 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Confirmation

Suspected receptacle was set up to be switchable. See no obvious switch tied to receptacle. Will be replacing with receptacle that has screw based connections. Will probably just remove red wire, leave it constant hot. See no harm in leaving as is for now, just an unused switch out there somewhere, right? Wasn't sure if red wire might have served another function, e.g. supplied power to another junction/device? Like a ceiling fan? Understand receptacle basics, not knowledgeable with regard to switch-wiring scenarios.
 
  #5  
Old 06-30-17, 12:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,250
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
The code requires a switch controlled lighting outlet in habitable rooms. Removing the switch may create a code violation .
 
  #6  
Old 06-30-17, 04:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Just to add any light is an outlet so if you have an overhead light or wall sconce you have met code.
 
  #7  
Old 06-30-17, 05:03 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Questions resolved...

Excellent answers. Thanks to all!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: