How to get WeMo light switch to work?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-17, 07:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to get WeMo light switch to work?

Has anyone gotten Belkin WeMo Light switch to work? I have a three-way light switch and the WeMo light switch do not work with three-way but since I'm not going to use three-way anymore, it should just work, right? I have replaced the switch that is inside the house to the WeMo light switch. The switch outside in the garage was left alone untouched and planned on disconnecting the switch once the WeMo light switch work but it's not working. Any suggestion is appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-17, 07:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
You can't just ignore the three way switch... it's still inline.

I don't have any problem wiring them.
What model switch did you use ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-17, 08:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is the one I purchased. I connected the black and red to both black wires on the WeMo light switch. I connected the white wire to the white wire on the WeMo light switch. There is no neutral in mine. On the outside garage, I didn't do anything. What should I do/wire so that the WeMo light will work? I will have to forgo the three-way if the WeMo light switch work.
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-17, 09:02 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,773
Received 33 Votes on 32 Posts
You need a neutral for the switch to work. The white from the 3-way switch may or may not be a neutral.

Can you sketch out the wires/cables which are involved in all the relevant boxes?
 
  #5  
Old 07-06-17, 09:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
Like Z mentioned..... it must have a neutral.

The circuit could probably be rewired but there would no longer be three way control if you use that switch.

Pictures of the wiring would work too.
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-17, 08:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need a neutral for the switch to work. The white from the 3-way switch may or may not be a neutral.

Can you sketch out the wires/cables which are involved in all the relevant boxes?
How do I determine if the white wire from the 3-way switch is neutral or not?

There are only four wires from the WeMo light switch (1 green, 1 white, and 2 black). I connect the white from the 3-switch to the white wire on the WeMo and the red wire from the 3-way switch to the one of the black wires on the WeMo and then the black wire from the 3-way switch to the other black wire on the WeMo. I do not have the ground wire so the green wire on the WeMo is not connected to anything.
 
  #7  
Old 07-07-17, 12:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
How do I determine if the white wire from the 3-way switch is neutral or not?
Somewhere there is a 2-conductor cable that brings power to the circuit. Find that 2-conductor cable. Is the white of that 2-conductor cable connected to the white of the three conductor cable.

Here is an example of when white is neutral. Noice it is just an extension of the neutral of the power in cable.

Name:  3-way_PWR-SW-1R.png
Views: 845
Size:  53.9 KB

Here is an example of two whites neither of which is a neutral. Notice one is connected on both ends to the 3-way switches and the other is being used as a hot. While code requires it to be remarked another color it seldom is.

Name:  3-Way_Sw-Lp.jpg
Views: 1314
Size:  33.3 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-07-17 at 01:14 PM.
  #8  
Old 07-07-17, 01:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you so much for the diagram. I believed mine is this one. At the switch, it does not have two blacks. It has white, black, and red and same is the one in the switch in the garage.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]82850[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 07-07-17, 01:47 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Open the light and check the connection there. Are there two 2-conductor cables?
Does it have a black connected to a white?
 
  #10  
Old 07-07-17, 09:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! I'll check the light wiring tomorrow.

On another note, will this GE 45613 Z-Wave Wireless Lighting Control Three-Way Dimmer Kit work with my 3-way switch? My only concern is that in the description it said, "Neutral Wire Required (Not Included in packaging)." So, if my existing 3-way switch does not have a neutral then this switch still not going to work, correct?
 
  #11  
Old 07-07-17, 09:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
If you ONLY have a three wire cable in the box and all three wires are on the three way switch..... there is no neutral present there.

No white wire connected to a three way switch will be neutral.

We need pictures of the wiring to eliminate guessing.
 
  #12  
Old 07-08-17, 12:05 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, if my existing 3-way switch does not have a neutral then this switch still not going to work, correct?
Correct, and in fact NO fancy electronic/wireless switch will work without a neutral, so you can stop searching the net for alternative switches. This is why neutrals are now required by the NEC. Homeowner runs into this very problem and is tempted to do something foolish to make it work.

As was mentioned above, even if you don't currently have a neural there, it might be possible to swap some wires and get you one there, as long as you're willing to give up 3 way operation. That's why all the questions about exactly what wires are where.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: