Sump pump code, nothing else on circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-11-17, 12:04 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sump pump code, nothing else on circuit?

I am pretty certain when wiring for a sump pump, the pumpt needs to be on a dedicated circuit with nothing else to avoid potentials of tripping a breaker and flooding your home, correct?

As I am planning to 'box in' my sump pump in the basement as part of a finishing project, is it ok to possibly add a light switch after the outlet? Is that permitted to still meet code?

Or does the pump need to stay 100% dedicated with nothing else on it at all? After boxing in the area, it will be used sort of like a closet storage and having an overhead light on a switch would be preferred and simplest to extend off the outlet used for the pump. If I can't do that, I'll have to look into getting a switch and wiring in from another source.

Thank you
PT
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-11-17, 12:33 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 438
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am far from an expert here, but in my state (NJ) I am fairly certain it has to be on a dedicated circuit by itself. Thats also (I *think*) the only way to get around the requirement for having it--as a basement receptacle--on GFCI.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-17, 03:51 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,617
Received 46 Votes on 41 Posts
It is common sense but no national code, maybe local. The installation instructions may state that a dedicated circuit is required.
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-17, 04:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,168 Votes on 1,083 Posts
Although a dedicated circuit to the pump is not required it is recommended.
Adding a light in the closet where the sump pump is ok for that circuit.

Code does require the pump to be on a GFI circuit.

(My opinion on that requirement differs but the code is the code.)
 
  #5  
Old 07-12-17, 07:30 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does the pump really need to be on a GFI circuit or outlet? I only ask that since the current wiring (when I bought the home) is the pump is connected to a single outlet and is not on a GFI circuit or outlet.

And it seems to get confusing that a GFI is needed/code when in a finished area, and is not needed for an unfinished room?
 
  #6  
Old 07-12-17, 07:33 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does the pump really need to be on a GFI circuit or outlet?
Yes, according to current NEC. But your location may be on an older code version. Whether you want to install one is a different matter.

And it seems to get confusing that a GFI is needed/code when in a finished area, and is not needed for an unfinished room?
You have that backwards. Are you perhaps mixing up GFCI and AFCI requirements?
 
  #7  
Old 07-12-17, 07:34 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Code now requires GFI protection for a sump pump receptacle (no exceptions). Historically it was not strictly required.

GFI is required in all unfinished basement, utility or garage rooms.
 
  #8  
Old 07-12-17, 08:13 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok, thanks for the tips.

So when I'm ready, I'll replace the existing outlet with GFI and then should be ok adding a light switch after it.
 
  #9  
Old 07-12-17, 09:28 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some states like Oregon have exemptions to certain things being on a GFCI like sump pumps and refrigerators/freezers in a basement/garage.

Ask your local electrical inspector if there are any special rules/exemptions for your state. They usually have certain hours where you can go ask them questions.

Oregon exemptions...
http://www.oregon.gov/bcd/laws-rules..._Table_1-E.pdf
 
  #10  
Old 07-14-17, 12:22 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,696
Received 91 Votes on 81 Posts
I'll replace the existing outlet with GFI and then should be ok adding a light switch after it.
You should add the light switch BEFORE the GFCI device otherwise when the GFCI trips you'll be trying to reset it in the dark.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: