NM connector clamps for 4-11/16 box

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-11-17, 02:32 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 605
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation NM connector clamps for 4-11/16 box

I'm rough wiring my kitchen and I have to add another NM cable to a switch box so fill calculations dictate that I upgrade the box to a 4-11/16 square box. The problem is the boxes only have two huge knockouts on each side and my existing cables must come in the top - all four.

What kind of clamps can I get to let the four 12ga cables enter the two top huge knockout holes?

Thanks guys!
 
  #2  
Old 07-11-17, 02:57 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's the depth of that box of yours? I use lots of 4-11/16 boxes here at home just for the "room".. . none of them has just 2 huge KOs like you're describing. I'd say look at another supplier. The Raco 257 for example has 3x 1/2 (or 3/4) KOs on each side. No problem with regular NM clamps there.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-17, 03:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,854
Received 1,336 Votes on 1,234 Posts
4-11/16" boxes comes with many different knockout configurations.

If you have a 4" square (1900) box already in use.... you can add an extension ring to enlarge the working area.

Name:  ext.jpg
Views: 119
Size:  5.1 KB
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-17, 05:45 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,223
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The knockouts are sized for the conduits they will be used with. Get a box with smaller knockouts.
 
  #5  
Old 07-11-17, 06:08 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,802
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Try a different supplier they will have 4 11/16 boxes with combo KO 1/2" and 3/4".
 
  #6  
Old 07-11-17, 07:11 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 605
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is the box 4-11/16 in. Square Welded Box, 2-1/8 in. Deep with 1 in. KO's (25-Pack)-258 - The Home Depot

2-1/8" deep

Only has the two monster knockouts.

I guess I need one like PJmax pictured and a clamp that accepts 2 wires in one hole. Agreed?
 
  #7  
Old 07-11-17, 07:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,854
Received 1,336 Votes on 1,234 Posts
The do make those larger boxes with smaller ko's. They did have them at the depot but they aren't showing online now.

You can get them at an electrical supply house.
 
  #8  
Old 07-12-17, 05:13 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 605
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK thank you for all the help!

Forum question: every time I go to post in either Chrome or FF I have to log-in. Never used to be that way. Anyone know why?
 
  #9  
Old 07-12-17, 05:30 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Forum question: every time I go to post in either Chrome or FF I have to log-in.
Same here. It really ticks me off, too. It's not that it's every time, it's just that they've decreased the session timeout to a rather short value. Dunno if it's 30 minutes or what.
 
  #10  
Old 07-14-17, 08:16 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,802
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
We have brought the log issue to the admins. Issue is with the latest upgrade of the forum site and there appears to be no fix until next upgrade which will be this fall. Sorry for the inconvenience. I REALLY hate it too.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: