24vdc system surging and destroying electronics

Old 07-13-17, 04:00 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question 24vdc system surging and destroying electronics

Hi,

I have a boat with a 24v system. I recently purchased a Wirie WIFI and GSM system which is fine on that voltage. Since I purchased the unit 12 months ago I have fried 3 units. I have discussed with the manufacturer at length (who replaced the first 2 under warranty) but I haven't resolved the problem. I am not an elecrtrical expert but i can find my way around the basics. The only common denominator I can find is that it seems to happen when I start my engine. I multimeter tested and I seem to have consistent voltage. I set the multimeter to lock the highest value and started the engine several times. I didnt see much more that a 1v increase. Within the range according to the manufacturer. After I destroyed the first unit, I installed a 24-12v stepdown which also fried on the second occasion. I installed a fuse between the power supply and stepdown and another fuse between the stepdown and Wirie unit. It still fried both and didn't blow either fuse.

I have just ordered my new replacement I would love to solve this probelm before it is installed. (My current plan is to disconnect the unit before engine start, until this is resolved).

Over to the experts!

Cheers

Steve
MV Friesland

Old 07-13-17, 04:55 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You sure it isn't under voltage when the starter turns over. That can momentarily increase the amps being drawn. Cars have a lock out in the ignition switch that disconnects most things when starting. Maybe your idea of disconnecting everything when starting isn't a bad idea but why not two batteries and an isolator. Not close to being an expert so just consider these random thoughts that may be wrong.

Old 07-13-17, 06:29 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 752 Votes on 691 Posts
There are DC to DC voltage stabilizers such as this one that might help.

Old 07-13-17, 06:32 AM
A