Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Turning on copier trips circuit breaker

CO

07-13-17, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Turning on copier trips circuit breaker

Hi, Guys.
Sorry if this should have been posted somewhere else, but...

First, I'm an IT professional (computers, networking, etc).
A client has a large, floor-standing, printer/copier/scanner device that they want me to connect to their home network, etc.

However, when they turn it on, it blows the circuit.
We can flip the circuit in the circuit breaker, and that's fine, but when we turn the copier on again, it does the same thing....and so on.

Is there an obvious problem (like, maybe it's not the correct type of outlet for the copier device or something?) that anyone can point out, or will this take some more, lower-level troubleshooting?

Thanks for whatever info you can provide. :-)

Sponsored Links
Group Moderator

WI

07-13-17, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)  
Sounds like the circuit is overloaded.

What else is on the circuit, what's the size of the breaker and the requirements of the copier?

Group Moderator

NJ

07-13-17, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)  
Is the copier running on and tripping an AFCI breaker?
That would be a circuit breaker with a pushbutton on it.

~ Pete ~

TN

07-13-17, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)  
Check what else is on the circuit, but home network? As in residential? As with 15 Amp circuits?

I'm wondering if the printer might not require a 20 Amp circuit, as normally found in commercial?

Forum Topic Moderator

MI

07-13-17, 01:59 PM   #5 (permalink)