Turning on copier trips circuit breaker

Old 07-13-17, 11:55 AM
Question Turning on copier trips circuit breaker

Hi, Guys.
Sorry if this should have been posted somewhere else, but...

First, I'm an IT professional (computers, networking, etc).
A client has a large, floor-standing, printer/copier/scanner device that they want me to connect to their home network, etc.

However, when they turn it on, it blows the circuit.
We can flip the circuit in the circuit breaker, and that's fine, but when we turn the copier on again, it does the same thing....and so on.

Is there an obvious problem (like, maybe it's not the correct type of outlet for the copier device or something?) that anyone can point out, or will this take some more, lower-level troubleshooting?

Thanks for whatever info you can provide. :-)

Sponsored Links
Old 07-13-17, 11:58 AM
Group Moderator
Sounds like the circuit is overloaded.

What else is on the circuit, what's the size of the breaker and the requirements of the copier?

Old 07-13-17, 12:03 PM
Group Moderator
Is the copier running on and tripping an AFCI breaker?
That would be a circuit breaker with a pushbutton on it.

Old 07-13-17, 12:04 PM
Check what else is on the circuit, but home network? As in residential? As with 15 Amp circuits?

I'm wondering if the printer might not require a 20 Amp circuit, as normally found in commercial?

Old 07-13-17, 12:59 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Any laser printer with a heat fuser has a pretty big current draw as that fuser warms up. It's possible this circuit already has too much load and cannot handle the additional demand of the copier. Do you have another unloaded circuit at the client's site you can test plugging in the copier to rule out whether this is a supply problem or a malfunction in the copier?