Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can I make my main panel a sub panel from a detached garage?

Old 07-20-17, 08:47 AM
Y
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone, newbie here (electrical, not construction). Anyways, here's the situation:

I'm about to build a detached 2-car garage on my property, and I was thinking I would also like to wire in a 240v outlet in addition to the basic garage wiring.

My service entrance to the house is above ground (very low, too - no weather head), so on another occasion I thought about having a new meter box put in with some nice conduit and a weather head. BUT the thought occurred to me, since the garage would at the back of my property (where the lines are coming from), could I kill 2 birds with one stone here and just move my service entrance to the garage and run a line from the garage to the house?

I understand I would likely have to have one big "main" breaker at the garage, and then a small sub-panel for the garage electrical. But if I were to then run a line to the house underground to the main house panel, this would cause my 100 amp house panel to become a "sub" panel as well, correct?

I figured I could use one electrical permit to get the work done that I would have had to pull two for, since adding the weather head later would be a separate item of work. Has anyone done this before? If not, does it sound like something that could be done?

Thanks in advance!

Old 07-20-17, 08:56 AM
P
Received 6 Votes on 4 Posts
Neutrals and grounds need to be separate in a sub-panel. Bonding must be in the first panel at the service entrance. Is the wiring going to be easy to change in your current main panel?

Old 07-20-17, 09:09 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
Can it be done - absolutely. Is it a good idea or cost-effective? That would depend on the details....

Old 07-20-17, 09:17 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator