Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Add a plug by splicing into existing wiring in the attic with junction box

Add a plug by splicing into existing wiring in the attic with junction box

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-29-17, 02:35 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add a plug by splicing into existing wiring in the attic with junction box

Name:  IMG_20170728_221731.jpg
Views: 5827
Size:  49.5 KB
https://photos.app.goo.gl/LgDwqFGCTELnWV3u1

Hi all, I'm new to the forums and came here researching a wiring project.

I am trying to add a plug for my washing machine but do not have an easily plug/lightswitch to run wire to. I can access the wiring in the attic where it drops down into the walls to other plugs. I am trying to find out if I can cut the wiring in the attic and splice it to a new run of wire to my new plug. I want to use the wiring going to my fridge plug as it is the only thing on that circuit.

I have googled it and found websites saying I can extend wiring using a junction box (but not necessarily splicing into). Other websites have said the junction box must be easily accessible (not inside a wall or attic) while other videos or examples don't seem to care about accessibility (in the attic where it's just difficult to get to). I have plenty of room in the attic for a junction box and it's not hard to access as long as you have a ladder.

Is there an official name for what I am trying to do so I can better search the building code? This would be for Honolulu county in Hawaii.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-29-17 at 02:42 AM. Reason: Add image.
  #2  
Old 07-29-17, 02:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I am trying to add a plug for my washing machine but do not have an easily plug/lightswitch to run wire to.
The plug is on the washing machine cord already. What you need is a receptacle to put the plug in.
I want to use the wiring going to my fridge plug as it is the only thing on that circuit.
If the fridge is in the kitchen you can't by code because kitchen receptacle circuits can only serve the kitchen and dining room.

Under current code it is recommended the laundry room has a dedicated circuit. Running a new circuit from the breaker panel would be best.
I have googled it and found websites saying I can extend wiring using a junction box (but not necessarily splicing into). Other websites have said the junction box must be easily accessible (not inside a wall or attic)
An attic is accessible. You would need to use two junction boxes about a foot apart because you need at least six inches of stripped cable in the box and you don't have enough slack in the cable for that. You would connect the two boxes with a short length of NM-b.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-17, 03:24 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I am adding a circuit to the breaker panel, do I need to have that inspected/permitted? Otherwise that would probably be as doing a junction box splice setup. The breaker panel is in the laundry "room". The laundry is pretty much in the kitchen taking up one side of what would be called our pantry. The washer/dryer are stacked right next to the fridge with a closet door and wall between them.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-17, 04:06 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If I am adding a circuit to the breaker panel, do I need to have that inspected/permitted?
You would have to ask your local inspection department.
The breaker panel is in the laundry "room"
How close to the washer?
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-17, 09:31 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,222
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The laundry area should have a 20 amp 120 volt circuit . It should not be serving any area outside of the laundry. You should install a new circuit .
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-17, 11:37 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
https://photos.app.goo.gl/t87TChqT2WXJUu7x2Name:  IMG_20170729_072439.jpg
Views: 1316
Size:  21.8 KB

This is the laundry room/closet. Breaker panel is very close to where the plug is going to go. I'm assuming the condo came with one of those all in one stacked units and only needed the dryer receptacle. Previous owner put full size washer/dryer in and instead of adding a receptacle, he used a hole saw to cut through a wall and plug the washer into the fridge receptacle using an ungrounded extension cord. (facepalm)

https://photos.app.goo.gl/QlLpsYfHr7o7ZyYi1Name:  IMG_20170709_102309.jpg
Views: 2209
Size:  21.5 KB
 
  #7  
Old 07-29-17, 11:51 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It looks like you can just put a receptacle below the breaker box and the washer cord should reach. Give us a better picture of the breaker box and we can give you more details.

Name:  IMG_20170729_072439.jpg
Views: 1207
Size:  28.9 KB
 
  #8  
Old 07-29-17, 12:19 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_20170613_1625592.jpg
Views: 1164
Size:  24.7 KBName:  IMG_20170729_080208.jpg
Views: 1153
Size:  33.0 KBName:  IMG_20170729_080200.jpg
Views: 3241
Size:  51.2 KBName:  IMG_20170729_080152.jpg
Views: 1751
Size:  26.2 KB

I didn't want to put the receptacle below the breaker panel mostly for aesthetic reasons. I included a picture of the kitchen to hopefully give a better idea how everything fits in together and also help determine if the laundry really is a separate room or part of the kitchen.
 
  #9  
Old 07-29-17, 12:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,222
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
I would not say the laundry is part of the kitchen, but a separate area.
 
  #10  
Old 07-29-17, 01:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I didn't want to put the receptacle below the breaker panel mostly for aesthetic reasons.
The other way will require opening the wall and then patching it. Of course if the cord is too short that may be the only way. You would need to open the wall on either side of the stud on the left of the breaker box to drill a hole through the stud below the breaker box and feed a cable into the next stud bay so the receptacle would be covered by the side of the washing machine.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-29-17 at 01:44 PM.
  #11  
Old 07-30-17, 02:02 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help, I was able to run the additional circuit up to the attic and then over and down to the location I wanted it in.
 
  #12  
Old 07-30-17, 07:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You did it the hardest way but good you got it. Did you use a GFCI receptacle?

Required per Sec. 210.8(A)(10) of the 2014 NEC
 
  #13  
Old 07-30-17, 09:46 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had to go back in to fix the dryer receptacle so I switched to a GFCI plug, thanks for the heads up on that.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: