Living room outlets not corresponding with light switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-31-17, 12:42 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Living room outlets not corresponding with light switch?

Hey gang. My wife and I just moved into our first home this past weekend. It is awesome and scary.

The first thing and only issue I'm having with it is in our living room.

We have 5 outlets in the living room. There are two entry ways to the living room with switches.

The only weird thing is, the switch is only communicating with one outlet.

I've been up all night (and day today) trying to work it out by reading information tutorials and watching videos.

Here is the setup for the switches and outlet:

Name:  image1.jpg
Views: 108
Size:  26.3 KB

Name:  image2.jpg
Views: 101
Size:  23.6 KB

Name:  image3.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  36.8 KB

Name:  image4.jpg
Views: 118
Size:  38.0 KB


Only one of the outlets is corresponding with the switch, but they are all set up the same way with the wires.

Help! I've run out of ideas.
 
  #2  
Old 07-31-17, 12:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The wiring looks ok on first view but one of the main problems is that the jumper does not get removed on the neutral (silver screw) side of the receptacle.

Only the jumper on the hot (brass screw) side gets removed.

Name:  image3.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  23.3 KB


When installing wiring on the screws.... the loop goes on the screw facing clockwise so that as you tighten the screw... the wire is drawn into the center of the screw.

That white wire is on backwards.
 
  #3  
Old 07-31-17, 01:06 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi thank you for the reply!

Maybe I'm just confused. isn't that picture from the silver side? Thus the little tab stays on?

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 07-31-17, 01:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
the jumper does not get removed on the neutral (silver screw) side of the receptacle.
Yes... that is the picture of the silver side and yes that jumper should be intact.
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-17, 01:25 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry for the confusion.

But isn't it intact?
 
  #6  
Old 07-31-17, 01:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
It looks broken in the picture.
The picture shows the hot/brass side but the bridge is the same on both sides.

(This is not your picture)
Name:  bridge clip.JPG
Views: 70
Size:  25.1 KB
 
  #7  
Old 07-31-17, 01:37 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[ATTACH=CONFIG]83693[/ATTACH] I believe that is the brass side without the clip?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]83694[/ATTACH] And that the intact silver side?


Or maybe I just need new outlets lol.
 
Attached Images   
  #8  
Old 07-31-17, 01:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
I can clearly see the open bridge on the brass side.
I cannot see it 100% clearly on the neutral side.

This is an intact clip..... not cut.

Name:  clip.jpg
Views: 83
Size:  28.8 KB
It connects both screws together.
 
  #9  
Old 07-31-17, 01:50 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a better picture (with my ipad plugged into as I'm still testing)

Name:  thumbnail_image1.jpg
Views: 83
Size:  19.4 KB
 
  #10  
Old 07-31-17, 03:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
That receptacle has the bridge in place and the white wire is on correctly.
That's not the same receptacle you previously posted.... is it ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: