Replacing Electrical Outlet on Outside of Shed


  #1  
Old 08-18-17, 10:34 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Replacing Electrical Outlet on Outside of Shed

I have a shed that has 2 plug outlet that needs replacing. I imagine the box inside is OK, so would I just replace the outlet with any outlet or do I need some special type. I am pretty sure it currently does not have any GFCI on the one I am replacing. Do the outlet covers come separately or are their special outside outlets for this purpose? This is a 15 A circuit.
 
  #2  
Old 08-18-17, 12:17 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,217
Received 1,178 Likes on 1,136 Posts
Needs to be GFCI if outside and could only be replaced with a three prong receptacle if a GFCI is used (assuming not grounded since old receptacle was two prong).

EDIT: May have mis-read and you're saying duplex receptacle when I first thought two prongs. Regardless, would still need to have GFCI protection.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-17, 12:27 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
It looks like any of the indoor outlets that I have changed, except it has a cover on both plug spots. The ones I have changed in the past had a black wire on one side, a white wire on the other side, and a ground wire, if I recall. Can a GFCI outlet be hooked up with that or does it need some other special wire?
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-17, 12:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Do the outlet covers come separately or are their special outside outlets for this purpose?
You need a weather resistant GFCI receptacle if the circuit is not GFCI protected. Cover needs to be an outside cover. Inuse cover is best.
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-17, 12:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,401
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
A gfi will replace your standard duplex receptacle . Use the line terminals.

You need a weather resistant marked gfi and an in use bubble cover.
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-17, 01:25 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Thanks guys. I appreciate your help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: