Replacing Electrical Outlet on Outside of Shed

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-17, 09:34 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Replacing Electrical Outlet on Outside of Shed

I have a shed that has 2 plug outlet that needs replacing. I imagine the box inside is OK, so would I just replace the outlet with any outlet or do I need some special type. I am pretty sure it currently does not have any GFCI on the one I am replacing. Do the outlet covers come separately or are their special outside outlets for this purpose? This is a 15 A circuit.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-17, 11:17 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,575
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Needs to be GFCI if outside and could only be replaced with a three prong receptacle if a GFCI is used (assuming not grounded since old receptacle was two prong).

EDIT: May have mis-read and you're saying duplex receptacle when I first thought two prongs. Regardless, would still need to have GFCI protection.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-17, 11:27 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It looks like any of the indoor outlets that I have changed, except it has a cover on both plug spots. The ones I have changed in the past had a black wire on one side, a white wire on the other side, and a ground wire, if I recall. Can a GFCI outlet be hooked up with that or does it need some other special wire?
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-17, 11:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Do the outlet covers come separately or are their special outside outlets for this purpose?
You need a weather resistant GFCI receptacle if the circuit is not GFCI protected. Cover needs to be an outside cover. Inuse cover is best.
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-17, 11:31 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,150
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
A gfi will replace your standard duplex receptacle . Use the line terminals.

You need a weather resistant marked gfi and an in use bubble cover.
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-17, 12:25 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks guys. I appreciate your help.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: