Grounding an unused cable coax drop

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-17, 08:06 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 458
Received 26 Votes on 18 Posts
Grounding an unused cable coax drop

My house previously had cable (before we moved in). We now have satellite. The satellite coax is grounded with a ground block in the demarc box. However, the old cable coax drop from the pole was just left loose in the box. Should that cable coax be grounded as well? It's a two-port ground block, so I could screw the cable coax into it without affecting the satellite grounding.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 08-18-17, 08:42 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you aren't using their system, I don't see why you need to ground it.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-17, 08:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,854
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
Yes. The cable should be grounded and terminated. There should be a capped coax connector on the end of the wire. Not terrible important if not there.
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 08-18-17, 09:21 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 458
Received 26 Votes on 18 Posts
Ground it by screwing it into the ground block, then terminate it on the other side? Like this?
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 08-19-17, 01:32 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Yes. ALL aerial communications wiring must be grounded with an approved grounding device. This is to guide stray currents to the earth from atmospheric disturbances.

OR, have the cable completely removed from the house.
 
  #6  
Old 08-19-17, 01:53 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 458
Received 26 Votes on 18 Posts
OK, got the cable coax drop screwed in, just have to get the terminator and attach that. Was more of a PITA than I had expected, mainly because of the lengths of coax that I was given to work with.

A sort-of related question: How important is the actual plastic demarc box itself? Mine doesn't seem terribly weatherproof compared to, say, the telco NID, or even to newer coax enclosures. But does it need to be? After all, I've seen coax ground blocks attached directly to the side of a house.
 
  #7  
Old 08-19-17, 02:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,854
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
The box is more for tampering..... with weatherproofing a distant second.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: