Wiring storage containers

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-19-17, 07:10 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hennepin County, MN, USA
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring storage containers

I am putting in electrical service for storage containers, and a roof in-between them, chicken coop, pond pump, a gate and maybe future irrigation. I am using CSED and will have a box on the bottom. First question how deep does my 2" sch 80 vertical conduit go, 18"? The utility company will bury their service 24", not in conduit.
For the storage containers I will put in some receptacles and lights, it would be nice to use the same cable inside and out. How should I wire these? The CSED will be next to one container.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-20-17, 06:55 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hennepin County, MN, USA
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another question, can I drive my grounding rods in the trench of the service cable? It would be less digging and less likelihood of hit with future digging.
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-17, 07:03 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,633
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
PVC is required to be at least 18" in the ground. Direct burial cable is required to be at least 24" in the ground. Yes, you can drive the ground rod(s) in the trench.

For the storage containers I will put in some receptacles and lights, it would be nice to use the same cable inside and out. How should I wire these?
I would recommend using EMT or PVC conduit for wiring the containers. There is really no good way to protect a cable on the surface of the container.

Question: What is a CSED?
 
  #4  
Old 08-20-17, 08:03 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hennepin County, MN, USA
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Combination Service Entrance Device, meter/panel combo. Someone on the forum threw it at me, without explanation. Good to know I am not the only one that didn't get it.

For the grounding/bonding can I use a multi wire, larger than 6ga, as I have it on hand?
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-17, 10:27 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,633
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
Combination Service Entrance Device, meter/panel combo.
Thanks. I have always just called them a meter/panel combo.

You didn't say how large the service is (amps) so that will determine the size of ground wire to use. The wire going to the ground rod can be #6
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: