Cabling for cooktop and single wall oven

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-07-17, 07:06 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cabling for cooktop and single wall oven

I've got a 50amp cir. breaker and Type NM-B 10-2 w/grnd plastic 600 volts cirtex-u (UL) cable on standby ready to connect hoping these will be ample to handle the following appliances I intend to install later this year.

http://www.sears.com/kenmore-30inch-...p-02249512000P

GE Monogram 30 inch Induction Cooktop
Electrical rating:
7700W at 240V/60Hz

Will this be enough to work on the one circuit?
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-07-17 at 07:55 PM. Reason: reformatted
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-07-17, 07:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,770
Received 1,189 Votes on 1,100 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

No..... you only have 240v at 30A.

Your GE range requires 7700w @ 240v which is 33 amps.

The wall oven calls for Total Load: 3.4 kW @ 240Vwhich is 15A. That means your existing cable would be good for just the wall oven.
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 09-08-17, 12:35 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, the 50 amp circuit breaker is ample. But I need 8 -2 cable?
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-17, 12:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,770
Received 1,189 Votes on 1,100 Posts
#10 wire is only rated for 30A and should never be connected to a breaker larger than 30A.

You can put the #10 cable on a 2P20A breaker for the wall oven.
Then use the 2P50 and run new 8-2 w/grd.

When I'm called to run a replacement or new range line.... I use 6-3 w/ground. Some ranges require 120/240v connection which is 4wires. The three wire cable w/g future proofs the run.
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-17, 07:39 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Pete. On your advise I purchased a 2p20A cb to use with the 10-2 cable for my oven.

FYI, this is the "future" remodeling project on which I've been working and for which I've been waiting for 23 years. If I live another 20 years another remodel is not in my stars. Whether I sell or gift to charity my home I don't give a d*** what the next owner does or wants. Chances are either would demolish and build 4 homes on the huge lot. So, doing more than is needed now for future possible changes is neither my concern nor reasonable. And, technical info should include the fact that the cable from the cb and load center to the box in the wall behind the lower cab serving the new cooktop will be max 10 ft. They are literally around the corner from each other.

My questions are re the cooktop solution.

1. Is there any safety or similar reason I should not use the 50 amp cb for my cooktop which recommends a 40 amp cb?

2. The ampacity charts seem to imply if I use NM-B cable it would need to be 6 gauge or if I use THW, THWN, SE, USE, XHHDW I could use 8 gauge.

Thanks much.
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-17, 08:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,770
Received 1,189 Votes on 1,100 Posts
The breaker is ok. My chart says 45A for 8-2 NM-b. If it's a short run.... use the 6-2.
 
  #7  
Old 09-08-17, 09:12 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Huh? Your response assumes I can read your mind. Sorry, I'm not that perceptive.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: