generator power to well pump?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-09-17, 03:54 PM
Robert 48's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
generator power to well pump?

Thanks for looking and possibly helping me solve this conundrum. I apologize if this was addressed somewhere else, I just couldn't find it! First some background, generator is a 7000EXL 7000/12500 watts has a 14hp gas motor. It is hardwired with 8 Guage and runs everything I want without any issues EXCEPT my well pump. I have to adjust the idle as it is a bit hight but it still handles surg fine. At current idle I'm getting 150v and 290v at both the gen and at the sub panel for the pump. I also have that voltage to the pump as checked at the PumpSaver Plus as it goes to the pump. The pump is a 3/4hp 230v works fine with line power just not gen power, doesn't even try to turn pump on and then cut off.

Also when turning off the brake at the sub and back on I don't here the typical clicking of the PumpSaver.

Only thing I can think that is possibly causing the issue is the voltage being 290v am I correct or is it something else??
Thanks
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 09-09-17, 04:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Welcome to the forums.


At current idle I'm getting 150v and 290v
That is a tad high not to mention the running frequency is also going to be way off.
You need to readjust the idle so that the voltages and freq are within specs.
 
  #3  
Old 09-09-17, 06:33 PM
Robert 48's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How can I check the frequency? And I was questioning the frequency. Thanks again!
 
  #4  
Old 09-09-17, 07:37 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,295
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
There are number of meters available. Kill A Watt comes to mind It will measure voltage and frequency at the 120 volt level. Once you get that set, the 240 volt should be good.
 
  #5  
Old 09-09-17, 07:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Many voltmeters have a Hz setting on it.... especially digitals.
 
  #6  
Old 09-09-17, 08:03 PM
Robert 48's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Haha don't I feel stupid! Yes I do! So I adjusted the idle and went to the well flipped the brake and out come a bubblin water. I hate when I don't trust my instincts, they have never let me down yet.

My meter has a 20k freq on it and it read 0.05 when I checked one leg to neutral or on both legs. Does that sound right or did I check it wrong?

Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 09-10-17, 06:59 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,548
Received 156 Votes on 139 Posts
My meter has a 20k freq on it and it read 0.05 when I checked one leg to neutral or on both legs. Does that sound right or did I check it wrong?
It's probably reading .05kHz. Move the decimal three to the right and you have 50Hz (though the precision is off). Do you have a lower freq setting where it will be more accurate?
 
  #8  
Old 09-10-17, 08:54 AM
Robert 48's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's what I figured and not this one is a cheaper one but good enough for what I got it for! Just not this application.

Thanks all for the advice and help, well is pumping on the generator now so I am good to go. Never checked the output before as I only ran construction tools on it before!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: