GFI Breaker install help

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-13-17, 04:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFI Breaker install help

Trying to change a square D QO 20 amp breaker to a ground fault breaker. Wired new 20 amp QO GFI breaker and ran white pigtail to same spot on buss the neutral wire had been with old breaker. The GFI breaker keeps tripping but still maintains load ...in other words still acts as a regular breaker even though it is tripped. Not sure what is going on here. I tried changing the white pigtail to a different buss location but got the same results.Any help would be most appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-13-17, 01:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,567
Received 413 Votes on 387 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

When a GFI breaker is tripped..... it's tripped and should be open. If it is not opening.... it is defective. In other words..... pushing the TEST button should trip the breaker and there should be no power exiting it.

This should be checked with an actual voltage tester or meter.
A non contact test pen will not work for this testing.
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-17, 06:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,956
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
Did you more the circuit neutral to the breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 09-18-17, 02:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes I did that thanks...............................
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: