Generator and transfer switch dilemma

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-16-17, 04:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generator and transfer switch dilemma

Generator and Gen Switch Box



My TroyBilt Generator 10.5kw/7kw generator has a statement in the owners manual under “System Ground”: The system ground is connected to the AC neutral wire (the neutral is bonded to the generator frame).



I recently installed a Connecticut Electric Generator Transfer Switch kit 10-7501G2 to my home breaker box; and followed the instructions to the letter. Ditto for running the permanent wiring under the floor to my outside power box.



8 of my 10 gen switches are connected to 15 amp/120v circuits. The remaining 2 are wired together 240v to power my central a/c. My a/c service tech assured me this generator would run the a/c but NOT the heat side.



Having completed all phases of wiring, etc… I flipped the 200 amp breaker providing utility service to our home. Everything works as before and I let the system run overnite to be sure.



Today, I flipped off the main breaker, turned on my generator, hooked up my L14-30 cable, and began switching circuits from “line” to “gen” one at a time. I started with the 240v circuit, but the a/c did not power up. I then went through all 8 remaining circuits and checked the house for power. Everything on all 8 circuits was powered up just fine.



The LCD panel on the a/c thermostat was blank as if no power. My generator is showing only 34% usage and the meters on my gen xfer switch are indicating power usage on both legs.



I go back to my transfer switch instruction manual and read: This product is suitable only for use with a generator with a floating neutral… contact generator manufacturer for instructions to remove bond between generator neutral and frame.



Does anyone in the forum have any useful ideas on what I can do to salvage this situation?

Please reply in the forum or PM me.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-16-17 at 04:22 PM. Reason: removed email address
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-16-17, 04:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You don't want your email address posted on a busy website like this one.
You will get email notifications of a reply.

If you have a heat pump system or an A/C with electric heat..... you will have two 2P 240v breakers. One for the outside condensor and one for the inside air handler.
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-17, 12:33 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,806
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
Not sure why this thread closed. I reopened...
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-17, 12:49 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,806
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
I go back to my transfer switch instruction manual and read: This product is suitable only for use with a generator with a floating neutral… contact generator manufacturer for instructions to remove bond between generator neutral and frame.
You cant have two bonds.. If your using the gen for home power as you state you need to lift the bond at the generator..

Call the manufacturer to ask how...

Check the wiring on the furnace end after you unbond gen..

Many furnaces today require correct polarity to the control board. The control board determines this by checking voltage from hot to neutral and hot to ground.
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-17, 05:13 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,982
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
Have you checked to be sure you have 240 volts on the load side of the breakers in the transfer switch?
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-17, 08:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to use the RECOMMENDED type of transfer switch the manufacturer of the generator says to use and only make modifications to the generator the manufacturer approves.

Quite a bit to all this. There are neutral switching and non-neutral switching transfer switches.

Further reading... Search google.com for "separately derived system" and "non-separately derived system"
 
  #7  
Old 09-18-17, 04:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the welcome and removing my email. and you are correct. the 45 amp breaker just above the a/c is the 2 pole heat side of the system; and when i flipped it off, the LCD panel in the house went blank... just like it did when i tried to power with the gen/ my xfer switch instr tells me to NOT connect any breaker above 30 amp... so i guess my hope of having a/c during hurricane outage is gone.. plus the wires coming off this breaker are HUGE. thanks again for your help
 
  #8  
Old 09-18-17, 04:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for your input. based on the limitations (30 amp) of my transfer switch kit, i have abandoned the hope for central air during summer outages
 
  #9  
Old 09-18-17, 04:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i am unable to reconnect the gen until the heavy rains stop. but what i can tell you is that BOTH sides of my gen transfer switch were supplying power to 8 circuits in my breaker box. AND both watt-meters were registering current flow during the one-hour test i ran. dont know if i had a full 240, but everything in the house was working properly, 2 frigs, 1 freezer, microwave, etc
 
  #10  
Old 09-18-17, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Bill, i have read a mountain of online info on articles related to your reply. i think i am going to try to get an electrician to come out and see if he can salvage this. if i have to purchase a different xfer switch, i may use this one as a power center in a remote garage i am about to order. the gen would be the only source of power for my lights, compressor, etc.. all 120vac needs.
 
  #11  
Old 09-18-17, 05:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
the 45 amp breaker just above the a/c is the 2 pole heat side of the system;
Yes.... it's the heat and the air handler. You can connect that to your generator. The air handler in blower mode(A/C) only uses a few amps. The breaker is that large because of the backup electric heat coils which you won't be activating.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: