Weird ceiling light behavior (Possible wiring issue)

Old 09-26-17, 11:27 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Weird ceiling light behavior (Possible wiring issue)

Hello people!

I tried to replace our ceiling lights in living room and dining room with new ones, and everything was fine with the two ceiling light fixtures in living rooms. But, I have hard time understanding the strange behavior of the one in dining room. Not to mention, I have limited knowledge of electricity!
Anyway, when I switch on the light, half of the bulbs turn on and the other half keep flashing. I tried the bulbs with other fixtures and they are ok. Tried different bulbs (LEDs, Halogens, ...) no luck. The fixture takes 10 12V 20W halogen bulbs. Any input would be much appreciated as I am so frustrated.

Video and photos of the light and wiring are attached.

Thank you

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2SY...ature=youtu.be

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 09-26-17, 12:01 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Good thing you included the video to show the bizarre behavior.

Are there two ballasts in that fixture ?
I only see 5 bulbs in the picture.... where are the others ?
The fixture may need to have all in to work properly.

At the switch.... red is hot and black is switched to the light. I'm not quite sure why there is a single white wire visible at the ceiling. Normally all the white wires would be connected together. Was the old fixture directly connected to the single white and black wire ?

Old 09-26-17, 04:35 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts