Need help wiring light switch and outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-01-17, 09:42 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help wiring light switch and outlet

Hey,

I was wondering if you could help me wire a light switch and outlet. I uploaded a picture so you can see what I'm talking about. If you look at the picture, the power source is the 14/2 wire facing upwards on the right, the 14/3 wire facing downwards on the right goes to the outlet, and the light is the 14/2 wire on the left (ignore the wire in the middle going out of screen).

How would I got about wiring it so I have a 1 light switch going to the lights and the outlet (further down the line) always be hot?
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by slkern; 10-01-17 at 09:48 AM. Reason: Clarification
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-01-17, 09:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,501
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Right now there are two switches in that box.
Will the receptacle one now just be a dummy switch ?

With the three wire cable..... was the red or black wire by itself on the switch.
 
  #3  
Old 10-01-17, 12:16 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response!

I was planning on having the receptacle switch be a dummy, however, I just learned it was code to have a receptacle on a switch if you don't have an overhead light in the room. So yeah, there are two switches in the box (like you said). One switch for the exterior light and one switch for the receptacle. One dummy.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-17, 01:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,501
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
It is required to have a way to light yourself into a dark room.

Ok...so what are we doing ?
Is it just one half of one receptacle that is switched ?
That should stay that way.
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-17, 01:26 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm wondering how to wire it so I have one switch for the exterior light and one switch for the whole outlet, top and bottom. I believe that's how it was before.
 
  #6  
Old 10-01-17, 02:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,501
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
The only thing I can't tell is if the black of the three wire gets switched along with the red or needs to be connected to the always live black connection. It would depend on the wiring on the receptacle.

All whites get connected together.
The incoming hot goes to one side of both switches.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 10-02-17, 10:01 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great. That helps a lot!

The black of the 3-wire has a continuous loop in it. Not sure if that means it get switched?

Also, the outlet isn't wired yet. I'll attached a picture of what that looks like.
 
Attached Images   
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: