Oversize wire connection

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-04-17, 08:04 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oversize wire connection

Hi There,

I'm in the process of building a house and garage. Garage connection has been inspected and signed off. I have a dilema with connecting my garage to the house. Service is connected to 200 AMP panel in the garage. Then I have 200 ft run of underground 4/0 al wire to the house. This will be connected to 100 AMP panel @ the house. The lugs on the 100 AMP panels are too small for the 4/0 wire. What are my options to have it connected? Second part of it is on the 200 AMP panel in the garage how do I connect the 4/0 wires to either 100 AMP breaker or the the bus bars?

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-04-17, 08:43 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,434
Received 93 Votes on 73 Posts
Reducing pins or splice on short piece of smaller wire to fit.
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-17, 08:36 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Can you just make the house panel 200A? The price difference between a 100A packaged panel and a 200A packaged panel is less than $100 -- probably about the same as a pile of splicers or reducers.

The 200A panel in the garage should have accessory bolt on lugs available that will fit #4/0.
 
  #4  
Old 10-05-17, 09:51 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,731
Received 65 Votes on 61 Posts
What is the model of the panel in the garage? 200 amp panel in the house is the best bet if possible,
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-17, 04:15 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your feedback guys. I would love to go with 200 AMP in the house. Thing is due to voltage drop over the 200 ft run I can't get 200 AMP service in the hosuse . Also I don't think they would let me have 200 amp panel feeding another 200 amp panel. Unless I can get 100 AMP breaker in the garage feeding the 4/0 cable.

Could you elaborate on options provided:

1)Reducing pins or splice on short piece of smaller wire to fit.

What are reducing pins? Where do I get them ? Part no etc? Splice ? How do you splice 2 AWG onto 4/0 ? meret?

2)The 200A panel in the garage should have accessory bolt on lugs available that will fit #4/0.

How do they look where do they bolt on?

I'm using EATON panels. I have been to numerous electrical supply stores but no one will help. I need to tell them what I want. It is frustrating. I have talked to some electricians , they are not much help either. City folk does not deal with this type of scenarios (long runs) etc.

THanks in advance.
 
  #6  
Old 10-05-17, 04:36 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,434
Received 93 Votes on 73 Posts
For splicing on a smaller wire end, google "splicer/reducer". For a reducing pin, google "CPM-4/0". The pin reducer requires a special tool to crimp the reducer to the wire end.
 
  #7  
Old 10-05-17, 04:53 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,731
Received 65 Votes on 61 Posts
It's going to tuff finding a reducer to go from 4/0 to 2, what does it say on the breaker lug for max conductor size,also as mentioned you will need to rent the proper crimp tool for the reducing pins IF you can find them.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 10-05-17, 05:51 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,434
Received 93 Votes on 73 Posts
Should only needed to go down to 2/0. Splice/Reducer can be found at Lowe's or Home Depot.
 
  #9  
Old 10-06-17, 09:07 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So went to the electrical supply store. They indicated they don't have splicers and lug kits for panels are only for 2/0 wire.

He did indicate that I should be able to buy 200 AMP lug panel (will take 4/0) and replace main breaker with 100 AMP one. Anyone can advise if this is allowed?
 
  #10  
Old 10-06-17, 10:33 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,434
Received 93 Votes on 73 Posts
I'm not understanding the problem. Buy splice/reducers and splice on a short piece of 2/0 on the ends of the 4/0 to fit the 100A panel and the 100A feeding breaker. A 4/0 splice/reducer can actually splice down to smaller than 2/0. The splice can be done in the panel.
 
  #11  
Old 10-06-17, 10:36 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 83 Votes on 73 Posts
I would love to go with 200 AMP in the house. Thing is due to voltage drop over the 200 ft run I can't get 200 AMP service in the house . Also I don't think they would let me have 200 amp panel feeding another 200 amp panel.


Forget voltage drop. No one is advocating using the full capacity of the 200 amp panel, the 200 amp panel with 200 amp main breaker is just so the 4/0 conductors will fit the lugs. Increasing from a 100 to a 200 amp panel does not increase the load. Ideally you would have installed a 200 amp main breaker panel WITH feed-thru lugs in the garage and then you'd just connect the house feeder to those feed-thru lugs. For lack of planning ahead, now you have to reduce the feeder to fit the lugs on a 100 amp breaker. The simplest thing to do in theory is to install a junction box adjacent to the 200 amp garage panel and splice smaller conductors to the 4/0 feeder conductor that will then connect to the 100 amp breaker. Since the feeder is protected by this 100 amp breaker the size of the main breaker at the house is irrelevant, the protection comes from the 100 amp breaker and the 200 amp main breaker becomes just the required disconnect. This is in theory, the very simplest thing to do is to reduce the 4/0 wire ends using pin connectors that crimp onto the ends of the 4/0 conductors and reduce the wire size to something that will fit the 100 amp breaker's lugs. As has been mentioned, the crimping tool must be rented from the manufacturer of the connectors. I believe the last time I did this the connectors and crimping tool came from T&B. Seems to me like back then we were reducing 750 MCM aluminum to 600 MCM copper to terminate at a 400 amp Square D breaker in a 1200 amp panelboard.

Feeding a 200 amp subpanel from a 200 amp panel is a non-issue, that's why they make 200 amp panels with feed-thru lugs.
 
  #12  
Old 10-06-17, 10:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,402
Received 1,019 Votes on 946 Posts
Changing the lugs is ok if the lugs in your panel are removable.

The easiest way to change wire sized is to bug on a smaller cable using a Polaris connector. This connector comes in many sizes and just requires a hex key to install. Every electrical supply house carries them.

Name:  polaris.jpg
Views: 235
Size:  3.6 KB
 
  #13  
Old 10-06-17, 10:46 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 83 Votes on 73 Posts
Here is a splicing connector that is readily available and cheap. The supply houses are not in the business of interpreting your description of a desired product nor are they interested in designing your project for you, but they normally have no problem selling you what you ask for.

Blackburn Dual Rated Splicer Reducer 250KCMIL to #6 Stranded with Solid Barrier Wire Stop-ASR2506-B1-10 - The Home Depot
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: