Drill bit to go through floors?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-09-17, 08:54 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Drill bit to go through floors?

I need to go through my floor to get a hole open in the crawl space below my house and then pull some wire.
difficult to say what the exact thickness is - any recommendations?
I've also seen these flexible drill bits 6' long - what and when are those used?
 
  #2  
Old 10-09-17, 11:26 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,113
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Whats the floor material and how big will the hole be? They make regular wood spade bits with 16" shanks (search for Irwin long shank spade bits) or you can buy an extension for regular spade bits anywhere, as long as the hole is big enough to fit the socket end of the extension through.
 
  #3  
Old 10-10-17, 02:04 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wood floor maybe plywood underneath then sub flooring then framing/joists.
difficult to know if I'm directly above a joist or not?

Are the 6' long flexible drill bits any good? Hardware store only seems to have those.
 

Last edited by qwertyjjj; 10-10-17 at 02:48 AM.
  #4  
Old 10-10-17, 04:52 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
You do not want to drill through a joist. Drill a small pilot hole and see how thick it is. Any 6 inch drill bit should work. Floor should be less than 2 to 2 1/2 inches thick. Measure from outside wall to Joist and take that upstairs and repeat.
 
  #5  
Old 10-10-17, 05:39 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,402
Received 743 Votes on 684 Posts
Almost any drill can drill through a wood subfloor. General purpose twist drills are what I use most often as one wire usually needs a 1/4 - 1/2" hole. Spade bits also work but they tend to be larger than needed for unless you are running a large wire or several wires.

The long bit you mentioned is used for fishing wires through walls. You would cut an opening in your wall the size of an outlet box. Then insert the drill through the hole. And using the metal handle that comes with the drill you bend the shaft inside the wall so you can drill down through the base plate. This allows you to run wires between floors without them being visible.
 
  #6  
Old 10-10-17, 07:45 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Is a right angled drill worth getting to drill holes in studs in tight places or can I get a short flex shank and just use a normal drill?
 
  #7  
Old 10-10-17, 08:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,213
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Drill from the bottom up.you can come in the stud cavity.
 
  #8  
Old 10-11-17, 11:09 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If there are no reference points how do you get the exact point to drill up through?
 
  #9  
Old 10-12-17, 01:35 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Next to the wall where you want the cable drill a 1//8 inch hole through the floor and insert a stiff wire. Then look for the wire from below.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-12-17 at 04:31 AM.
  #10  
Old 10-15-17, 12:07 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Couldn't floor be 2" base plate + floor + subfloor + air gap?
 
  #11  
Old 10-15-17, 12:29 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
ĺ" floor + ĺ" subfloor =1Ĺ". A standard length nay be enough or get a longer bit or use a length of straight coat hanger wire. What is a base plate? What airgap? Feel like we are not talking about the same thing. Of course here there often isn't even a subfloor.
 
  #12  
Old 10-15-17, 09:19 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Joist headers or sill plates...
 
  #13  
Old 10-15-17, 03:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Joist headers or sill plates...
They're under the wall. I said to drill through the floor next to the wall.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: