Simple grounding question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-17, 03:58 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Simple grounding question

I am wiring up my garage...still.

I have run a circuit that goes from EMT outside, to NM inside. It then goes to EMT to go across the garage.

Do I have to ground each outlet on the other side of the garage? I have the green ground going through the emt also, just wondering if I need to pigtail from the metal box.

I also have a metal junction box that tees off to 2 outlets. Do I need to ground to the junction box on that?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-17-17, 04:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,189
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
With a conduit system you don't need to run the ground wire to each device but each device does connected to the metal box with a green ground screw and a short tail of green or bare wire.
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-17, 02:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
Depending on the cover type used on the boxes you may need a grounding connection to the box and the device. Since you do not have a complete conduit system you need grounding jumpers to all isolated sections of conduit.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: