Does EMT conduit need to be grounded?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-18-17, 07:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does EMT conduit need to be grounded?

I am running surface mounted emt conduit and metal boxes in my basement. Can I just ground the box and receptacle normally or does the conduit itself have to be grounded somehow? Is there a situation where a conductor gets lose/cut in the conduit and the conduit itself could become hot? Or would the conduit just take the ground from the box's grounding screw?

It's all 12/2 romex.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-17, 07:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The EMT should start at a grounded metal box or panel. Each subsequent box should be metal with device grounds pigtailed to the metal box.
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-17, 03:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,985
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
A loose connection could cause the lost of grounding and leave the conduit hot. This is why secure connections are so important . A redundant grounding means avoids leaving a conduit hot if a connection came loose.
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-17, 11:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The conduit itself is grounded through the metal junction boxes and correct box fittings tightly installed to the conduit. You cannot use EMT conduit with plastic boxes for this reason.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: