Open neutral?

Old 10-21-17, 12:40 PM
P
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Open neutral?

Ok, this is long winded so please bare with me. I'm a landlord and I do most repairs myself, but when it's something beyond me I will call in a pro so I don't make things work. I'm not an electrician, I can only do basic stuff like replace a faulty light switch or power outlet. So if anyone is able to help me with this problem, I'll need to be walked through things step by step as if I'm a small stupid child.

Here it goes.

The power outlet, a regular non GFCI outlet, in the spare bathroom of my rental property stopped working on Thursday. I replaced it with a new one and it seemed to get power for a moment but then nothing. I thought I traced the problem to the GFCI outlet in the master bathroom across the house, because that one wasn't working either. I replaced that outlet as well but I was still having issues.

Both the red and green lights on the new outlet would stay on, no blinking or anything, it's providing no power, and pressing the test button does nothing. If I press the reset button in and hold it as it wants to pop back out, that outlet will come alive as will the one in the spare bathroom. But if it moves too far in or out it's back to being dead. I thought the outlet might have been a lemon so I got it exchanged for a new one and installed it. The problem remained. My cousin who works construction for a living said maybe I got the black wires reversed, so I switched them around and then nothing came on, no red or green lights.

I put it back to the way I had it originally and I'm back to where I started with indicator lights on but no actual power.