Question about the location of RCD inside a sub circuit


  #1  
Old 10-30-17, 02:24 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about the location of RCD inside a sub circuit

Inside a computer tower I have installed 3 motor controllers. Space inside this tower is limited, and even though the house has them built in - I am installing a local RCD and MCB inside the tower.

I would like to place the junction box with them on the opposite side of the tower from where the power is input (see picture, example on left) as there is a perfect sized space for the box and access is better. (option #1)

Or is the example on the right the more correct way to install it (option #2)? Even maybe the RCD on the outside before the power from wall even feeds into the tower (option #3)
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 10-30-17, 05:19 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
This forum is primarily based in the US. You sound like you are in Europe.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-17, 05:44 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
that doesnt change where circuit protection should be fitted in an enclosure lol
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-17, 01:20 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
bump as I am approaching D-day and I cannot find this question anywhere on the internet
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-17, 09:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,123
Received 2,963 Votes on 2,674 Posts
It doesn't matter where it goes inside the enclosure. It should be in an accessible location so that it can be easily reset. It also needs to be the first item in the power wiring.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: