Generator - Bonded Neutral

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-17, 07:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generator - Bonded Neutral

Planning to install inlet receptacle to connect standby generator to breaker panel. I am going to use a mechanical interlock. My generator has neutral and ground bonded. I have read many threads on this issue and there seems to be some disagreement on how to handle this. My plan is to leave the ground at the inlet box unconnected where the generator power cord plugs into it. I would connect the ground from the main panel to the inlet box. Any opinions would be much appreciated. I do not want to unbond the neutral and ground at the generator. The other option is to connect ground from the generator cable and have the neutral and ground bonded at two locations, which is not good to my understanding. Thank you in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-17, 07:11 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I do not want to unbond the neutral and ground at the generator.
Why not?

The other option is to connect ground from the generator cable and have the neutral and ground bonded at two locations,
The ground wire can become energized.. Touch your stove in the home and WHAMO!!!!


Either get a neutral switching transfer switch or lift the bound at generator.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-17, 07:16 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Whats make model of generator?
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-17, 07:17 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
  #5  
Old 11-01-17, 07:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is a Troy Bilt XP7000. I can't find mfg instructions on how to unbond the neutral and ground. Isn't it equivalent to leave the ground disconnected from the generator cable to the inlet box?
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-17, 07:34 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Is this your unit? .


http://www.troybilt.com/wcsstore/Tro...8_OpManual.pdf

I dont think by NEC you can lift the wire as you describe ...
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-17, 07:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is the model I have, except it is an older generation without the GFCI outlets.
 
  #8  
Old 11-01-17, 07:40 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
The system ground is connected to the
AC neutral wire (the neutral is bonded to the generator frame).

Per the instructions..

Like my Kohler gen there was a nuetral wire going to the frame of the gen. This was easy to find. I simply unbolted the ring terminal from there and made my gen a floating nuetral.

I also removed my GFI outlet and replace with a regular duplex.

IMO a floating gen when used stand alone is safer then a bonded gen. No path to ground..
 
  #9  
Old 11-01-17, 07:41 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
That is the model I have, except it is an older generation without the GFCI outlets
Even easier. .
 
  #10  
Old 11-01-17, 07:54 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
And after you do the mod... If you feel safer running gen with it bonded as a stand alone, just make a bond plug... Plug it into one of the outlets is all....




 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: