No main breaker?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-17, 07:32 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No main breaker?

Is this one of those panels where one of the double pole breakers shuts off other breakers below it? The six throw rule or whatever it was called?
I'm wondering how to shut this off completely for a) emergencies b) checking circuits.
It looks full. I'm also wondering if I should upgrade it to a newer panel?


 
  #2  
Old 11-05-17, 08:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It helps if you insert images large enough to be easily seen. https://www.doityourself.com/forum/l...rt-images.html
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-17, 08:14 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Click on the image. I'm on mobile and it doesn't allow me to use the DIY upload process.
https://s1.postimg.org/2mhv8a016n/20171105_195712.jpg
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by PJmax; 11-06-17 at 10:44 PM. Reason: added picture from link
  #4  
Old 11-05-17, 08:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The wiring diagram inside will show whether this is a split bus panel.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-17, 06:17 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I would normally switch off the main breaker before opening the panel. How do I do that on this? The bus, although I won't be touching it, will still be live.
 
  #6  
Old 11-06-17, 06:55 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,647
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
Doesn't look like a split bus as most have a gap between upper and lower breaker sections. Check to see if there is a disconnect upstream/at meter.

Also - none of the double pole breakers appear to be labeled for a "lighting" section.
 

Last edited by Astuff; 11-06-17 at 07:11 AM.
  #7  
Old 11-06-17, 07:45 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Why would the lighting be on a double pole? Always thought lighting was single pole 15a circuits?
 
  #8  
Old 11-06-17, 08:01 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Can't really tell from looking at the cover. I'm suspicious that it might be a split bus, which means there isn't really a main disconnect. It might be a main lugs panel, in which case there may be a disconnect or fuse upstream, perhaps built in to the meter.
 
  #9  
Old 11-06-17, 09:26 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I believe Commander is the Canadian version of Challenger. I would put my money on finding a disconnect breaker near the meter.
 
  #10  
Old 11-06-17, 08:12 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,647
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
With a split-bus panel the bottom lighting section(s) is fed by a double pole breaker in the top section. Lots of times 60 amp.
 
  #11  
Old 11-06-17, 10:56 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Not all split bus panels have a gap between the mains and the branch circuit breakers.
 
  #12  
Old 11-07-17, 06:17 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,282
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
The submaster breaker for the bottom section of a split bus panel is sometimes referred to as the "lighting" breaker. At any rate all of the breakers should be labeled.

Like in a panel with a single master breaker up top, the bottom part of the split bus panel is split between the two legs of the 120/240 volt service so the "lighting" breaker will be a two pole breaker.

Lights and small appliances will not (may not) be connected directly to a circuit coming into the top half of the split bus panel unless the breaker up there for that circuit is 20 amps or less (usually compromises the flexibility of the panel) or unless there is a subpanel downstream on that circuit.

A panel that is not a split bus panel and that does not have a master breaker up top is called a lug panel. If it has more than six breakers, then it must have a master breaker rated for the panel amperage rating somewhere, for example at the meter if the feed comes directly from there.
 

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-07-17 at 06:33 AM.
  #13  
Old 11-23-17, 05:27 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
There was a main disconnect on the other side of the wall of the main entrance wires/meter.
however, this is rated 100A and the sub panel is rated 125A
 
  #14  
Old 11-23-17, 05:39 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,796
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
however, this is rated 100A and the sub panel is rated 125A
.
That is fine. The sub panel is rated higher then what it is fed with. If it was a 70 amp panel that was protected by a 100 amp breaker you would have an issue.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: