Portable Generator question

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-17, 12:40 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Portable Generator question

I'm not very electrically inclined. I have a 5500w generator with a 30a output. I also have a switch with a 20a input. Would it be safe to make a cable 30a to 20a?, and what type of wire should I use. I'm guessing 10-4. Thank you!
 
  #2  
Old 11-09-17, 02:30 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 125 Votes on 99 Posts
Are you saying you have a 20A transfer switch? Your 5500 watt gen at best will handle 20A even though the outlet is rated at 30A. The over current protection on the 30A outlet should be 30A so you should not use a 20A rated switch.
.
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-17, 04:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,919
Received 1,344 Votes on 1,242 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I also have a switch with a 20a input.
Can you explain what that is ?
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-17, 05:43 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,296
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
Twenty or lesser amp equipment, ordinary lights, appliances, 12 or thinner gauge wiring, switches, etc. are not supposed to be connected to a 30 amp source or corded plug without an appropriate 20 amp or lesser rated fuse or breaker in between, for example in a subpanel.

You should not create, possess, or use a plain straight through wire adapter (or extension cord) with a 30 amp plug and (female) receptacle(s) of lesser amperage rating.

Use the 15/20 amp receptacles on your generator for direct connection of 20 or 15 amp equipment.
 
  #5  
Old 11-13-17, 08:08 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a 20amp transfer switch.
 
  #6  
Old 11-13-17, 08:13 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately, my generator does not have a 20am output. I did get it to work by using 2 extensions cords from the generator to 2 outlets, one on each side of the panel. I just had to make male to male connectors on each one. I was just hoping to use the switch. Seems safer to me. Seems like I would need to replace the switch to be able to use it safely.

Thank You for the input.
 
  #7  
Old 11-13-17, 11:01 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
The switch would be much safer than the suicide cords.
 
  #8  
Old 11-13-17, 11:12 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
Please stop using the suicide cords before someone get seriously hurt or worse.
 
  #9  
Old 11-13-17, 02:22 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,558
Received 93 Votes on 81 Posts
If you have a true 20A transfer switch with 20A twist lock inlet, then you can use 10-3 cord with 30A male on generator side and 20A female on house side. If that transfer switch is actually 20A breakers, then even better.
30A output rating will not matter since your circuits are protected with breakers on your house panel and the cord between your house and generator is rated for 30A.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: