Installing GFCI protection no ground


  #1  
Old 11-18-17, 11:11 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,730
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Installing GFCI protection no ground

I have three circuits (out of twenty total) where the wiring is old 1950s cloth romex with no bare copper where I am going to protect with a GFCI receptacle as a first device.

I have read somewhere that the first GFCI receptacle must have ground connection to the panel...and it turns out I couldn't put a GFCI receptacle conveniently at the first box anyways because two of them are ceiling boxes, and one of them is a metal handy box in a closet where no one would think of looking there to test/reset. So I decided to mount a three gang switch box right below the panel and run the wiring to the three GFCI receptacles, then back to the panel where they go where they go.



Questions:

(1) Since I connected the metal box to the panel with EMT, there is already EGC so there is no need to run a green conductor down there, correct? Or do I still need one? Doesn't matter either way it's easy enough to do just wanted to make sure.

(2) Even if I could "conveniently" and practically fit a GFCI receptacle as a first in line device, in this case it wouldn't offer any protection because I don't have ground from the panel to the GFCI anyway, correct?
 
  #2  
Old 11-18-17, 11:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,401
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
A GFI does not need a grounding means to function.

Metallic conduit can be used as a grounding means.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-17, 02:38 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 189
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
A GFI works by comparing the current between the hot and neutral wires. If the current in the hot wire is 5mA greater than the neutral, the GFI trips.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: