Converting hard wired range hood to plug in type

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-17, 07:27 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Converting hard wired range hood to plug in type

I am replacing my current range hood. It is hard wired and the new one I want is a plug in type. Can I just take the wiring from the wall and hook up a plug in box. Would it need a dedicated line or can it be on with the lights or whatever else is on that circuit? I live in Texas.
 

Last edited by cgreen; 12-02-17 at 07:28 AM. Reason: Misspelled word
  #2  
Old 12-02-17, 08:09 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
If you are going with just a new range hood and not an over the range microwave, or something like that, the existing circuit should be fine. Depending on your wiring method, if it is non-metallic (Romex) or metallic (AC/MC/BX cable or FMC) you will just need to install a single gang remodel box and install a receptacle/plate.

Metallic box:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/2-1-2-in...1-NM/204609680

Non-metallic box:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/1-Gang-1...14RB/100404027
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: